Friday, January 17, 2014

Wordpress, The Great and Powerful - WRITERS WANTED

Let's not be coy with this, I haven't posted anything in months. I've been busy as I'm sure most of you all know life is often complicated and time consuming which has limited me in most respects to never posting. I'm also lazy which is a contributing factor. And I hate blogger which doesn't help at all. I mentioned a few months ago about seriously considering moving my blog to wordpress. I still have full intent to do so and I've been slowly working on the site. I'd like it to be up in full by mid February or early March. Now before I get to the Writers Wanted portion of this, you know me I must ramble first. 

Of course its not just a matter of moving the blog from one platform to another, it is also a matter of discarding what doesn't work and focusing the site more. This blog started out of my boredom but has attracted, to my great surprise, several talented independent filmmakers. Indie films are basically my second genre love to horror. I was one of those geeky kids who watched IFC (back when it wasn't full of shit) on Friday nights instead of going out like a normal teenager. I've always felt that while I love writing openly in my blog there's not much to distinguish it between every other horror blog on the internet these days. And since I want to help the Independent Horror Community more since I believe they offer more original and daring material I thought I'd just reinvent The Bleeding Dead from personal horror blog to a site for Indie Horror. Right now because I'm poor my URL will be accompanied by but if all goes well and the site is actually viewed I'll start paying for a real domain name. 

Now to the relevant part. I am starting school this semester and I still have a part time job that I depend on for rent and to pay for my pets. I have several films set to be reviewed for the new wordpress site but I want this to be more than a film review blog. I want it to have Independent horror news, books, games, all of it. I want it to be a Bloody Disgusting (alright maybe not that big) for Independent Horror films. That's where I seek out the help of you.

I'm looking for SEVERAL writers who are interested in being a contributor to The Bleeding Dead. How to contribute? It's easy! Send me an email ( with the position you are seeking in the subject line and a sample of your writing. Below is a list of the different types of writers I am seeking with a little more detail as to what I'm looking for. I'd prefer if the sample you sent me was in relevance to what your applying for but I'll honestly accept anything. 

News Correspondent - Mostly press releases and articles about up and coming, films, books, games, pre-production etc in Independent Horror. Looking for 1-2 people.

Book Reviewer - I've gotten a few request to review people's novels in the past but since I can never find time to read my own books I'll never get to this. This is aimed for lesser known authors who feature their work on twitter. Also I would like a separate entry for kindle only novels and short stories as those are kind of the bulk of the independent writing community these days. Seeking 2 people for this. 

Game Reviewer - Apps, computer games, etc. I'm don't have much knowledge when it comes to video gaming, I play but things like Sims and Mario Party. So this is really all on you and how you would like to approach it. 

Event Correspondent - Not required to attend but to locate and provide information, for filmmakers and fans alike of upcoming screenings, film festivals, and other Independent horror related events. Only need 1 person for this.

For everyone else who just read this because they were bored I appreciate you taking the time and hope you follow me to wordpress. Happy Irrelevant Post Friday/Follow Friday. Whichever is relevant to you. 

Tuesday, November 19, 2013

Press Release: Film Adaption of "The Summer I Died" Finds Its Director and Star


LOS ANGELES, CA (11/18/13) – Riothouse Entertainment has closed a deal to acquire the film rights to the critically acclaimed novel “The Summer I Died” by Ryan C. Thomas with legendary actor Bill Moseley set to star in a leading role.

Visceral, intense and graphic “The Summer I Died” tells the story of Roger and Tooth: two lifelong friends who, while out on a day trip into the woods, find themselves at the mercy of a sadistic madman and his bloodthirsty dog when attempting to rescue a woman screaming for help.

Bill Moseley has signed on to play the demented killer only referred to as “Skinny Man” by the characters.

Eric Pereira, whose brutal true crime thriller “American Girls” is currently playing the festival circuit has signed on to direct from a screenplay by the book’s author Ryan. C. Thomas.  Matthew Easton and David Lukan are producing.

The book, which has gained notoriety over the years as being one of the most violent and disturbing  novels ever written, has found itself on numerous top 10 lists and has since amassed a significant cult following. The sequel “Born to Bleed” was released in 2011 with the third book in the trilogy being released this summer.

Further casting for the roles of Roger, Tooth and Jaime will begin in December with cameras to roll late February in New Hampshire and Los Angeles.  The film is set for a late 2014 premiere.

For more information on the novel:

Official Facebook:

Press Release: FEARnet's A December to Dismember


FEARnet Presents Premieres of Jennifer Lopez in ‘ANACONDA’, Kristen Stewart in ‘THE MESSENGERS’, a ‘SILENT NIGHT, DEADLY NIGHT’ Trilogy, and the World Television Premiere of ‘DONNER PASS’

And Binge at the Four-Day “Holiday Buffet,” From December 26-29, with Monster Portions of FEARnet Favorites Such As ‘HOLLISTON’, ‘TODD & THE BOOK OF PURE EVIL’, and ‘FEAR CLINIC’

(SANTA MONICA – NOV. 18, 2013) – This December, FEARnet is coming down the chimney with a sack full of terror, featuring a loaded lineup of premieres, marathons, and stunts, headlined by the network premiere of the fan-favorite ARMY OF DARKNESS, currently making news as gossip surrounds a possible sequel in the works.

Picking up where EVIL DEAD 2 left off, ARMY OF DARKNESS—the third film in the original EVIL DEAD trilogy, directed by Sam Raimi—transports the genre’s most hapless hero, Ash (played by the iconic Bruce Campbell), into medieval times, where sinister forces menace the townsfolk. After accidentally freeing hordes of Deadites, Ash must use his chainsaw-hand and boomstick to lead the citizens into battle and defeat the ancient evil once and for all. ARMY OF DARKNESS makes its FEARnet debut on Sunday, December 1, at 10 p.m. ET/7 p.m. PT.

Also in December, who needs Santa when you’ve got FEARnet? Starting Tuesday, December 3, at 9 a.m. PT, and running until 5 p.m. PT on Thursday, January 2, participants can enter the Holiday Sweepstakes at, to win a sleigh-full of twisted treats featuring a 46” LCD BX450 HDTV; an undead uprising of DVDs that includes 28 DAYS LATER, NIGHT OF THE LIVING DEAD, and SHAUN OF THE DEAD; DL & Co. Diamond-Shaped Jewelry Box; exclusive TALES FROM THE CRYPT merchandise; FEARnet swag, and more!

Other December Highlights Include:
·         “Expedition FEAR” – Every Friday (10 p.m. ET/7 p.m. PT)
On December 6, the international thrills are coming from across the pond, with a UK double feature. First, it’s the psychological thriller PAPERHOUSE (10 p.m. ET/7 p.m. PT), where a young girl’s dream world slowly turns into a nightmare. DEATH MACHINE (12 a.m. ET/9 p.m. PT) follows, starring Brad Dourif as a vengeful genius who sends his robotic “Warbeast” on a killing spree. On December 13, the Germans explore medical mayhem with ANATOMY (10 p.m. ET/7 p.m. PT), starring Franka Potente as a med student who uncovers a deadly conspiracy. And a troubled British teen develops a taste for blood in CRAVINGS (12 a.m. ET/9 p.m. PT).

Then, on December 20, it’s the broadcast premiere of France’s high-octane THE HORDE (10 p.m. ET/7 p.m. PT), as cops and gangsters battle the undead in an abandoned high-rise. And an airborne virus turns citizens into zombies in Chile’s DESCENDENTS (12 a.m. ET/9 p.m. PT).

·         ‘ANACONDA’ (Network Premiere) – Sunday, December 8 (8 p.m. ET/5 p.m. PT)
A documentary crew—led by Jennifer Lopez and Ice Cube—journeys into the Amazon, and becomes ensnared in a crazed snake hunter’s (Jon Voight) quest to capture a gigantic serpent. Eric Stoltz, Danny Trejo, and Owen Wilson also star.                                                                                          

·         “Creature Features” Marathon – Thursday, December 12 (6 p.m. ET/3 p.m. PT)
Settle in for an evening of mutated fish, killer snakes, and other fine freaks of nature in FEARnet’s “Creature Features” Marathon. It all begins with FRANKENFISH (6 p.m. ET/3 p.m. PT), as genetically-altered Chinese Snake-Heads terrorize a small Louisiana town. VENOMOUS (8 p.m. ET/5 p.m. PT) is next, as Treat Williams battles mutant snakes, brought to the surface of the earth by seismic activity. Then, a documentary crew (Ice Cube, Jennifer Lopez, Owen Wilson) is forced to join a hunter’s (Jon Voight) quest for one of the world’s biggest snakes in ANACONDA (10 p.m. ET/7 p.m. PT). And researchers (led by Morris Chestnut) stumble into a nest full of mating super-snakes in ANACONDAS: THE HUNT FOR THE BLOOD ORCHID (12 a.m. ET/9 p.m. PT). BOA (2 a.m. ET/11 p.m. PT) follows, as an ancient beast awakens in a high-tech prison. THE THAW (4 a.m. ET/1 a.m. PT) closes out the evening, with Val Kilmer as a scientist at an Arctic outpost, where global warming has freed frozen prehistoric parasites.

·         ‘THE MESSENGERS’ (Network Premiere) – Saturday, December 14 (10 p.m. ET/7 p.m. PT)
Spirits haunt a family’s farmhouse in this supernatural shocker produced by Sam Raimi, and starring Dylan McDermott, Kristen Stewart, and John Corbett.

·         “Return of Killer Kringle” Marathon – Thursday, December 19 (8 p.m. ET/5 p.m. PT)
Santa Clause is comin’ to town… and he’s out for blood, in this four-film fright fest featuring the network premieres of SILENT NIGHT, DEADLY NIGHT 3, 4 and 5. Start the season screaming as Santa (Bill Goldberg), the Devil’s son, goes on a yuletide rampage after a thousand-year curse expires in SANTA’S SLAY (8 p.m. ET/5 p.m. PT), produced by Brett Ratner and co-starring Emilie de Ravin (LOST, ONCE UPON A TIME). Next, Ricky “Killer Santa Clause” Caldwell is back in SILENT NIGHT, DEADLY NIGHT 3 (10 p.m. ET/7 p.m. PT), waking from a coma to stalk a clairvoyant teen on Christmas Eve. Then, a reporter investigates a cult that wants her as their queen in SILENT NIGHT, DEADLY NIGHT 4 (12 a.m. ET/9 p.m. PT). And someone is using toys to commit murder in SILENT NIGHT, DEADLY NIGHT 5 (2 a.m. ET/11 p.m. PT).

·         ‘DONNER PASS’ (World Television Premiere) – Sunday, December 22 (8 p.m. ET/5 p.m. PT)
Snowbound teens come face-to-face with members of the legendary cannibal clan, during a weekend ski trip.

·         “Holiday Buffet” – December 26-29 (8 p.m. ET/5 p.m. PT)
Binge at the “Holiday Buffet” this December, as the Network cooks up monstrous portions of 10 of your favorite FEARnet shows and webseries. Highlights of the four-day feast include:
—TODD & THE BOOK OF PURE EVIL, about the teenage Metalhead, Todd, who must save his school—and the world—from Satanic forces.
—FEAR CLINIC, where Robert Englund and Kane Hodder bring your worst fears to life.
—PSYCHOVILLE, Reece Shearsmith and Steve Pemberton’s tale of a very odd bunch of citizens being targeted by a blackmailer.
—HOLLISTON, the genre sitcom starring Adam Green and Joe Lynch, as aspiring Horror filmmakers dealing with post-college life and relationships, while trying to make their big break in the business.
—MARI-KARI, an animated webseries about twin sisters—one living, one dead, both voiced by Shannen Dougherty—whose supernatural bond has consequences for anyone who tries to break it.
·         ‘REAPER’ Marathon – December 30-31 (12:30 p.m. ET/9:30 a.m. PT)
Catch all the soul-hunting action in this jam-packed marathon, featuring every episode from the series’ two-season run, as well as FEARnet’s exclusive reunion special with the stars and creators of the show. The quirky cult series centers on Sam Oliver (Bret Harrison), a college dropout who learns, on his 21st birthday, that he must now work as a bounty hunter for the Devil (Ray Wise), as part of a deal his parents made to heal his ailing father. Tyler Labine (TUCKER & DALE VS. EVIL) and Rick Gonzalez (COACH CARTER) also star, as Sam’s slacker friends who help him in his new secret double-life of ‘reaping’ souls, using a Dirt Devil vacuum cleaner as well as other modern household items.

About FEARnet
FEARnet is a multi-platform programming service delivering original and acquired horror, thriller and suspense content as a cable TV movie network, a video-on-demand outlet and web portal.  FEARnet, a partnership among Sony Pictures Television, Lionsgate Entertainment and Comcast Corporation, features a robust lineup of popular titles from major film studios and independents, encompassing 300 plus movie titles a year, including 14 world television and 22 theatrical broadcast premieres. The Network is distributed to U.S. cable subscribers across the country on various systems and is often ranked as the number-one free HD VOD movie service available in more than 28 million homes. The website,, ranks as one of the most popular sites in the genre category among total uniques and duration per visit. Follow FEARnet on Facebook and Twitter (@FEARnet). For more information about the company, visit To access photos visit FEARnetPR on flickr.

Press Release: First Look at Zombie Apocalypse "Escaping the Dead"


The good old classic quote "There's something rotten in the state of Denmark" rings true these days, although it is probably not quite in the way it was meant when written by William Shakespeare in "Hamlet"!
In directors Martin Sonntag and Bastian Brinch Pedersen's near-doomsday prediction "Escaping the Dead", Copenhagen reeks of rotten flesh after having come under attack of the living dead and the last remaining survivors fight for their lives.

The film stars Bastian Brinch Pedersen (who is also the co-director and producer of the film) as David, Rama Øzel as Ahmir, along with Daniel Hutera, Ali Öezkan, Iben Ma Bønnelycke, Nicolai Huan Nguyen, Camilla Ludvigsen and Kim Sønderholm ("Blood Fare", "The Winedancers", "Sinister Visions") playing Lars - a policeman that David comes across during his run out of the city.

Director Martin Sonntag about the film: 

"The film is inspired by a series of articles about the deathdrug "Krokodil" that was published about the same period of time when Ronald Poppo had his face eaten by a naked man hooked on bath-salts in Miami. We saw it as the perfect zombie plot: a death-drug that turns people into zombies.

The film has its starting point in a typical day for the lead character, David. David is the local marijuana pusher, but he is the kind of dealer that smokes more than he sells. In the meantime the country has been hit by a new death-drug and when David and his partner in crime Ahmir is offered some exceptionally cheap cocaine they see it as an opportunity to earn big money at the big techno concert the following Friday, but the cocaine turns out to have a terrible side effect that creates a giant zombie outbreak that spreads across the entire Copenhagen. In the film we follow David and his bloody fight out of the city."

Wednesday, November 13, 2013

Kick Start Me: Jeremiah Sayys 'Immoral Prodigy"

WorldsLastHero Productions and up and coming director Jeremiah Sayys need support from the horror community to kick-start their next feature film, Immoral Prodigy. The film is intended to keep pace with the classic 80's horror we love but with a more serious facade, layering gore and genuine characters to tell a story about how we often take those we care about for granted. The project needs to raise ten thousand by January Six Twenty Fourteen.

For those of you who've never used KickStarter before the minimum donation is $1 with the maximum being whatever your generous heart can conceive. Often, and as is the case with Immoral Prodigy, the producers will offer packages based on your donation and depending on how passionate you are about helping you can even get a associate producers credit for the film. You aren't charged until the campaign is over (so Jan 6th in this case) and if the film doesn't reach its goal you wont be charged at all.

Its important to support the Independent Horror Community because they are your future filmmakers and the most passionate of horror fans. Giving ten dollars makes a huge difference in a directors eye, and even if you can't donate helping spread the word also makes a huge difference. To donate or to find more about Immoral Prodigy go to the KickStarter page to help

I did a review late last year for Jeremiah Sayys's latest feature film Of Silence. You may read the review here if you need convincing that future projects from this director should be watched out for. Again please help spread the word with retweets, blog posts, ETC. Also if you have a kickstarter project you'd like me to help promote please email me at 

Press Release: 'Chopping Mall' Digitally Remastered and Seeking Theatrical Bookings

On March 21st, 1986, a film was released by legendary producer Roger Corman that today still is recognized as a genre classic. “Chopping Mall” produced by Julie Corman and helmed by exploitation wunderkind, Jim Wynorski was released during the VHS/home video explosion and would change the way the business perceived the place of genre titles within this emerging market place.

The film tells the story of killer security robots taking over a shopping mall and systematically murdering a group of trespassing teenagers who have broken into the mall for an all night party. Four couples decide to have a party in one of the furniture stores where three of them work. They all stay after hours at the mall, drinking, partying, and make-out, while the fourth couple watch old science fiction films on TV.

Outside, a lightning storm strikes the mall several times and damages the computer controlling the security robots. The robots kill two technicians and a janitor, before going on regular patrol in the now empty mall. Two of the teens leave the furniture store and are subsequently killed by the robots The surviving teens witness the robots kill a girl in still talked about head explosion, and the men and women are forced to separate, the men into the mall and the women into the air ducts, when the robots begin their final attack.
Directed by Wynorski who co wrote it with long time friend Steve Mitchell. Chopping Mall was filmed primarily at the infamous Sherman Oaks Galleria famous for appearing in Fast Times At Ridgemont High. The movie stars Kelli Maroney ( Night of the Comet, Fast Times At Ridgemont High, Ryan's Hope) and Tony O'Dell. B Movie icons Paul Bartel ,Mary Woronov and Dick Miller , fixtures in the Corman stable have cameo's in the film.

While the film did moderate theatrical business, where it really made an impact was in the burgeoning home video marketplace. Released through Lightning video, the B Movie label owned by Vestron, Chopping Mall equipped with compelling box art created by artist Corey Wolfe. Chopping Mall proved to rental outlet that B Movies coupled with great box art could easily out perform mainstream studio produced fare and could have longer shelf lives. The title coupled with the artwork screamed “rent me” to America's VHS hungry public, and they consumed it hungrily. It could be argue that lying within the success of Chopping Mall laid the foundation for the next decades video rental industry.

Fast forward to 2013, Jim Wynorski and producer Bill Dever decided that with the transition to digital delivery now employed by ninety percent of movies theaters it was time to re-introduce Chopping Mall to North American Theaters. “ I was always amazed that every recent showing of Chopping Mall always turned into an event” says Jim Wynorski “ People really love the movie and for me the guy who directed the film, that’s just great”.

With the kind support of Roger and Julie Corman, Wynorski and Dever obtained the original film elements and under the careful eye of Jim Wynorski brought the film back to its original glory. “ This is a dream come true, to play a small part in the restoration of a piece of classic American cinema is just amazing” tells Bill Dever “ Not only is Chopping Mall pure movie fun, its also in many ways an important film”.

So with the help of Roger and Julie Corman, Jim Wynorski's Chopping Mall will once more grace the theater screens again. Reminding movie going audiences of a time when movies were just fun......

please email 

Tuesday, November 5, 2013

Press Release: Tony Todd and Kane Hodder Thriller "The Family" Releases on Nov 12th


LOS ANGELES, CA (11/05/13) – For Immediate Release – Green Apple Entertainment (A division of ITN Distribution) and Primal Motion Pictures are proud to announce the release of the dark, gritty thriller "The Family" which arrives on DVD November 12th 2013.

Directed by Joe Hollow (“Disciples”) and Wolfgang Meyer (“15 till Midnight”) - The Family” tells the story what happens when a family of degenerate filmmakers decides to put together the ultimate snuff film masterpiece and the group of young people who find themselves as unwilling co-stars.

The controversial film brings together horror icons Tony Todd (“Candyman”), Kane Hodder (“Hatchet”) and Michael Berryman (“The Hills Have Eyes”) along with slew of genre up and comers including: Angie Savage (“Sons of Anarchy”), Shannon Lark (“The Psychic Experiment”), Mark Hanson (“A Blood Story”) and Tawny Amber Young (“American Girls”).

Pre-orders are also available now at retailers such as Barnes and Nobel, Blockbuster and Amazon. Additional Links and Information:

Trailer: (Preview)
Barnes and Noble:
Official Facebook: