Thursday, December 27, 2012

Of Silence (2012)

WARNING: May Contain Some Spoilers

Colby is man confined by his past horrors and the current ones that invade his broken life. After an accident causing damage to his ear Colby's love of scuba diving is lost, as well as a steady pay. And with the death of his wife following in recent wake it doesn't help as Colby becomes more withdrawn from family and life. Debt collectors, a worried family, and no other job passion Colby is falling further into depression. And to make matters worse he begins to hear strange and frightening noises, ones his family and the people around him cannot hear. As Colby divulges further into isolation and deeper into his wife's death, he's to uncover a horrifying presence that could take away the only meaningful thing left to him, his sister Haley.

Of Silence is a different kind of horror film. A simple but aesthetic piece that looks more to a sophisticated level than that of something floating around the indie circuit. Although I can see where a few people may not care for it as writer, director, and star of the film Jeremiah Sayys pays more attention to the subtler build than to a hellacious climax. There's not much visually occurring as the director wants you to listen rather than see the nightmares that surround Colby's life. As any void of dialogue is filled with unique sounds that don't attest to the common horror noises. There's an unsettled sense in your incapability to define what they are. However, your not denied entirely of a monster as the final product does offer a creature but still yet it remains mostly in the shadows. The special effects department creates creatures that look rather interesting, a bit of shame as you never get full exposure but that of course adds to the effect. Less detail is attended to some of the smaller effects, i.e. the smoke, but an overall professional effort on their part.

Usually when a person tries to write, direct, and act in a film they tend to be mishandled, with the qualities varying between the fields. But Jeremiah Sayys seems to have it down as he's preeminent in all aspects. There's a small moment in the film where Colby shows a remote bliss, one that really isn't seen throughout the rest. A smart directorial and acting choice for the film as the slight act elevates both the performance and the character. It let's way to a Colby that the audience never really gets to know, but at one point did exist. And of course the rest where he's imprisoned by his melancholic temper is acted out in a a believable and appropriate manner. The supporting cast is good with noteworthy Ashlee Gillespie as Haley, who acts as the somewhat brighter note of the film. And Matthew Lawrence as the brother, who I recognize from my nineties childhood. On a visual standpoint Of Silence in flawless in cinematography. Scenes in blackness appear intentional and not because of misused lighting. And the set design is captured in a serene gloss that I personally care for as a visual palate.


Outside of the strong technical structure there's also a lovely score that fit to the film perfectly. A defined and disturbed lullaby of sorts that I could recognize in an instant if played again. Not all may like Of Silence, as I said it's a cautious film that paces itself before any horror moment. Some may not personally like the surreal world Colby's life becomes as it fades in and out of memories, visions, and overall bizarre occurrences. Which is a weaker point in the film as it's often hard to decipher exactly what happened and what didn't. I hope to watch it again some day to maybe fill in some of the blanks that it left for me. It's also tending to characters before action, as your often more involved in Colby's state of dejection than the weird noises. But don't let it mislead, Of Silence is a stunning little film that I quite enjoyed. I'd watch again and I'd recommend as a watch for any slow burn horror fan.

Tuesday, December 18, 2012

Press Release: EPX Game Announces that Night Whisper Lane is Free on Wednesday December 19th 2012 on Apple’s & Amazon’s App Store


Toronto, Canada – December 18th, 2012 – Today EPX Games announces that Night Whisper Lane is free on Wednesday December 19th 2012 on Apple’s And Amazon’s App Store.

Download the Game via Apple’s App Store
https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/night-whisper-lane/id571163727?mt=8&ign-mpt=uo%3D4 


Download the Game via Amazon’s App Store
http://www.amazon.com/EPX-Games-Night-Whisper-Lane/dp/B00A6LQHGO/ref=sr_1_1?s=mobile-apps&ie=UTF8&qid=1355167448&sr=1-1&keywords=Night+Whisper+Lane
 


Night Whisper Lane has been nominated for best Adventure Game, Best Game Soundtrack & Best Action Game iOS; please help us out by nominating us at 

About The Game:
Experience the game they're calling "Point, Click & Die" - Now even more terrifying! 


★★★★★'“Night Whisper Lane has a great premise, a nicely spooky atmosphere, and some solid-if-too-basic gameplay. hope with the release of subsequent scenarios EPX will hone their craft. I am totally willing to point, click, and die some more.”' - JTM Games

★★★★ "Night Whisper Lane is worth a purchase, it's creepy, fun, and will keep you occupied for a while" - Bleeding Dead Film Reviews 3.5 / 5

★★★ Hard to solve, "Have you wondered how it would be, if some invisible force would push you into a big house full of mysteries and great dangers?" -- apposky.com - 6.8 /10

★★★★★ "I'm an avid player of horror games like resident evil and silent hill, and I am really enjoying night whisper lane! What I like about it are its simple tap controls and turn based boss stages, it's quite unique!" - cindygirl0812

★★★★★ "If you're looking for a fun, scary mystery game look no further" - bertybottom

Night Whisper Lane is a BRAND NEW survival horror game that many gamers refer to it as "Resident Evil Meets Final Fantasy"

See how long you can survive before One of the many deadly traps get you, "whatever you touch might be a trap"

Can you escape the horrors of Night Whisper Lane and live to see another day.

Night Whisper Lane is the 1st authentic Survival Horror gaming experience specifically designed for iOS that merges classic “Point and Click” gameplay with a “Turn-Based Battle System” to help you fend off whatever evil awaits you in this seemingly endless labyrinth.

You find yourself in presence of an old ominous house without the faintest idea of how you got there, yet you feel drawn to it and are compelled to enter. Immediately you look down to your arm and see….Goosebumps. As you reach to find the door you entered blocked, the shivers spread to every toe and finger tip.

You will need to trust your instincts, wit and memory to uncover the mystery behind the house and its connection to a mystifying femme fatal. Will you survive long enough to escape from the terror on Night Whisper Lane?

WARNING/DANGER: There are many hidden traps and deadly encounters on your journey that can and will kill your character! Be mindful of what you interact with as you look for items to solve puzzles and unlock doors & passages.

Weapons & ammunition are scarce so keep an eye out for them and manage them wisely because fighting empty handed is certain death.

Make sure to restore your character's health by using Bandages and First-Aid kits especially if you have a sneaky suspicion a trap or encounter is lurking around. This concludes the Survival Guide.

★★★ Features: ★★★

- Original Survival Horror Gaming Experience specifically made for iOS
 - Multiple Game Endings
-“Point and Click” gameplay featuring an engaging “Turn-Based Battle System”
- Authentic Survival Horror Story, even down to the camp
- Startling 3D rendered rooms and areas with a hint of surreal
- Gruesome booby-traps are hidden, some more deadly than others
- Challenging Enemy/Boss Battles
- Variety of items, weapons, health packs and other secrets to uncover
- Eerie soundtrack
- Auto Game save feature works in the background 
- Animated Boss Battles (Added in Version 1.0.1)
- Help / How To Play section in Main Menu (Added in Version 1.02)
- Restore Save File from death from Booby-Trap (Added in Version 1.0.2)
- In Game Map (Added in Version 1.0.2)
- iPad Retina Full support (Added in Version 1.0.4)

★★ Coming Soon: ★★

- Scenario 2
- Scenario 3
- Scenario 4

★★★★★ Become a fan! ★★★★★

Come join us on Facebook and Twitter!
Facebook - http://www.facebook.com/EpxGames
Twitter - http://twitter.com/EPXGames
YouTube Channel - http://www.youtube.com/user/EPXGames
Homepage - http://www.epxgames.com

★★★ Please rate! ★★★

If you like the game, please leave a rating!

 If you have any issues please drop us an email -support@epxgames.com

Night Whisper Lane includes Scenario 1; A New Scenario will be released every 2-3 months. All Scenarios will be FREE 

Download the Game via Apple’s App Store
https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/night-whisper-lane/id571163727?mt=8&ign-mpt=uo%3D4 


Download the Game via Amazon’s App Store
http://www.amazon.com/EPX-Games-Night-Whisper-Lane/dp/B00A6LQHGO/ref=sr_1_1?s=mobile-apps&ie=UTF8&qid=1355167448&sr=1-1&keywords=Night+Whisper+Lane
 


View the HD Night Whisper Lane Version 1.0.2 Feature Trailer on YouTube at
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=f35PWoDHeOU 


To download the trailer for use on your site, please visit the link below
http://www.sendspace.com/file/7p3civ
 


For more information on Night Whisper Lane visit www.epxgames.com 
Follow us on Twitter http://twitter.com/EPXGames 
Like us on Facebook http://www.facebook.com/EpxGames 

About Us
EPX Games is an independent studio based in Toronto, Ontario. Our love for games and the development of them has led to our first major release: Night Whisper Lane for the iOS platform. We believe that innovation; dedication, originality and enjoyment are at the heart of amazing games.
 


We will continue developing more titles that follow the same principles. We specialize in the development of games that are easy to play, easy to learn, and most importantly fun! We hope to captivate gamers of all ages from various backgrounds to enjoy the games we have to offer!

Sunday, December 16, 2012

Horror Short: Foodie (2012)

Directed by Christopher G. Moore
Written by Christopher G. Moore and Eryk Pruitt
Staring Nick Karner, David Berberian, and Alena Koch
Director of Photography Ismail Abdelkhalek

When Mueller gets invited to Kitchen X, an elite dinner party that only invites select members, his excitement is only matched to his avidity to food. As promised the dinner brings a unique experience unlike anything Mueller is prepared for, literally. Foodie is a quirky, albeit uneasy film about a food lover's nightmare. The thirty minute short could easily be an episode from Tales From the Crypt, or any horror anthology show for that matter, as it shares the same macabre sense of humor. It's almost like someones odd unbecoming nightmare as horrible things occur yet everyone is cheery, which makes it all the more unnerving. The gore is tended and used fittingly throughout the short, most effectively at the end.

Writers Eryk Pruitt and Christopher G. Moore use a couple of classic horror scenarios and build an original plot around them. Moore depicts the tone of the film without effort, intuit to the appropriate balance between the black humor and the horror. As well as divulging into the bizarre world of food lovers, capturing the language and mannerisms to fine detail. I really enjoyed the opening credits as it sets you up perfectly for what your about to see. The music was equally on key with the film as the original score and selected tracks are used to set you off. The set design though is a bit pallid in comparison to the oddity of the film and the cinematography as equally lacking. Not to attest that they're poor by any means but rather didn't have the level of creativity the other aspects of the film had. I'd easily recommend Foodie as a horror comedy watch, the premise should keep you interested and the end results isn't dissatisfying. You can purchase Foodie on DVD at the film's site, foodie-themovie.com.

If your interested in me viewing your short film please contact me at my email bleedingdead22@yahoo.com. But no more Twitter requests please, I tend to lose them after time.

Friday, December 7, 2012

Press Release: Night Whisper Lane Coming to Amazon and Nominated for Best Adventure Game


My review of Night Whisper Lane is available here. But there's also a contest in the review, a fairly easy one in my opinion, where you can get the game for free on your IPhone. I have 20 promo codes to give away and so far I have given away none. So your chances are pretty spectacular. 



EPX Game Announces that Night Whisper Lane is coming to Amazon’s marketplace & Night Whisper Lane has been Nominated for best Adventure Game, Best Game Soundtrack & Best Action Game on iOS.

Toronto, Canada – December 7, 2012 – Today EPX Games announces that Night Whisper Lane Version is coming to the Kindle Marketplace for the Kindle and Kindle HD on Monday December 10th 2012.
Night Whisper Lane has been nominated for best Adventure Game, Best Game Soundtrack & Best Action Game iOS; please help us out by nominating us at
http://www.bestappever.com/c/adgm/571163727 (Best Adventure Game)
http://www.bestappever.com/c/sogm/571163727 (Best Game Soundtrack)
http://www.bestappever.com/c/acgm/571163727 (Best Action Game)
About The Game:
Experience the game they're calling "Point, Click & Die" - Now even more terrifying!

★★★★ "Night Whisper Lane is worth a purchase, it's creepy, fun, and will keep you occupied for a while" - Bleeding Dead Film Reviews 3.5 / 5

★★★ Hard to solve, "Have you wondered how it would be, if some invisible force would push you into a big house full of mysteries and great dangers?" -- apposky.com - 6.8 /10

★★★★★ "I'm an avid player of horror games like resident evil and silent hill, and I am really enjoying night whisper lane! What I like about it are its simple tap controls and turn based boss stages, it's quite unique!" - cindygirl0812

★★★★★ "If you're looking for a fun, scary mystery game look no further" - bertybottom

Night Whisper Lane is a BRAND NEW survival horror game that many gamers refer to it as "Resident Evil Meets Final Fantasy"

See how long you can survive before One of the many deadly traps get you, "whatever you touch might be a trap"

Can you escape the horrors of Night Whisper Lane and live to see another day.

Night Whisper Lane is the 1st authentic Survival Horror gaming experience specifically designed for iOS that merges classic “Point and Click” gameplay with a “Turn-Based Battle System” to help you fend off whatever evil awaits you in this seemingly endless labyrinth.

You find yourself in presence of an old ominous house without the faintest idea of how you got there, yet you feel drawn to it and are compelled to enter. Immediately you look down to your arm and see….Goosebumps. As you reach to find the door you entered blocked, the shivers spread to every toe and finger tip.

You will need to trust your instincts, wit and memory to uncover the mystery behind the house and its connection to a mystifying femme fatal. Will you survive long enough to escape from the terror on Night Whisper Lane?

WARNING/DANGER: There are many hidden traps and deadly encounters on your journey that can and will kill your character! Be mindful of what you interact with as you look for items to solve puzzles and unlock doors & passages.

Weapons & ammunition are scarce so keep an eye out for them and manage them wisely because fighting empty handed is certain death.

Make sure to restore your character's health by using Bandages and First-Aid kits especially if you have a sneaky suspicion a trap or encounter is lurking around. This concludes the Survival Guide.

★★★ Features: ★★★
- Original Survival Horror Gaming Experience specifically made for iOS
- Multiple Game Endings
-“Point and Click” gameplay featuring an engaging “Turn-Based Battle System”
- Authentic Survival Horror Story, even down to the camp
- Startling 3D rendered rooms and areas with a hint of surreal
- Gruesome booby-traps are hidden, some more deadly than others
- Challenging Enemy/Boss Battles
- Variety of items, weapons, health packs and other secrets to uncover
- Eerie soundtrack
- Auto Game save feature works in the background 
- Animated Boss Battles (Added in Version 1.0.1)
- Help / How To Play section in Main Menu (Added in Version 1.02)
- Restore Save File from death from Booby-Trap (Added in Version 1.0.2)
- In Game Map (Added in Version 1.0.2)
- iPad Retina Full support (Added in Version 1.0.4)

★★ Coming Soon: ★★
- Scenario 2
- Scenario 3
- Scenario 4

★★★★★ Become a fan! ★★★★★
Come join us on Facebook and Twitter!
Facebook - http://www.facebook.com/EpxGames
Twitter - http://twitter.com/EPXGames
YouTube Channel - http://www.youtube.com/user/EPXGames
Homepage - http://www.epxgames.com

★★★ Please rate! ★★★
If you like the game, please leave a rating!

 If you have any issues please drop us an email -support@epxgames.com
Night Whisper Lane includes Scenario 1; A New Scenario will be released every 2-3 months. All Scenarios will be FREE
View the HD Night Whisper Lane Version 1.0.2 Feature Trailer on YouTube at
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=f35PWoDHeOU

To download the trailer for use on your site, please visit the link below
http://www.sendspace.com/file/7p3civ

For more information on Night Whisper Lane visit www.epxgames.com
Follow us on Twitter http://twitter.com/EPXGames
Like us on Facebook http://www.facebook.com/EpxGames
About Us
EPX Games is an independent studio based in Toronto, Ontario. Our love for games and the development of them has led to our first major release: Night Whisper Lane for the iOS platform. We believe that innovation; dedication, originality and enjoyment are at the heart of amazing games.

We will continue developing more titles that follow the same principles. We specialize in the development of games that are easy to play, easy to learn, and most importantly fun! We hope to captivate gamers of all ages from various backgrounds to enjoy the games we have to offer!

Wednesday, December 5, 2012

Night Whisper Lane - Horror Game Review & Mini Contest

I was asked a few weeks ago by Emanouel Pontikakis to review his game, Night Whisper Lane, for the app store. As it was with my Book Spine review I'm not much of a game reviewer but I agreed as it is a horror game and I'm always happy help. But I'm just inferring here that I'm not a game reviewer so please be gentle. How good this review will be is a matter of how well I can evaluate an app game for my IPhone.

Night Whisper Lane is a horror survival game in which your trapped inside a house that is littered with assorted objects that you need to find in order to escape. The game, developed by EPX Games, is a rather difficult play as random clicking is not always tolerated. Be mindful of the areas you going looking into for items as bombs, snakes, and other surprises await the button happy type player. This makes the game play a bit more careful and causes you to think more as where things will be hidden before you go tapping every surface of your screen. However your also impervious for the most part as dying just brings you back to the previous place you were, so there's not too much harm. 

The graphics for the app are pretty good, of course not the most realistic of details but fairly developed, especially considering the graphics of the past horror survival games I've played. The added touch of blood and nightmarish scenarios where you can get your head guillotined by a window are the horrors to the game story, as people turn up dead along the way. My only negatives with the game is I'd would of liked more of a response after clicking on an area, sometimes it'll show text and other times nothing. Night Whisper Lane is worth a purchase, it's creepy, fun, and will keep you occupied for a while, I have yet to beat the first scenario and there is more being released soon. Three half stars out of five. 

I do have a confession to make, I'm pretty bad at horror survival games. I'm confident that I'll survive the zombie Apocalypse, at least for a while that is, and I could give you a walk through of how to survive a slasher film but when it comes to finding items in a creepy location I'm just bad. I usually die, lets mention that, in the first moment I step in the house. I'm susceptible to booby traps as I'm a button masher. 

As it is though, I have a surprise for you. Little did you know when you clicked on this that not only is this a review but a chance to get the game for free. Yes, free. I have 20 promo codes to offer IPhone users who are interested in Night Whisper Lane. But atlas I cannot just give them out to you as that'd be too easy. But don't worry it's not too difficult to get a code. All I'm looking for is a comment in which you give me the name of a horror game, and the system in which you can play it on. This includes everything from old school NES to app games, etc. The only requirement is it must be horror and no repeats. So please read the comments above hand to make sure yours isn't already posted. The first 20 different games gets a promo code. Pretty simple right. Also please leave your email or twitter account so I can send you the code. If you not comfortable with leaving it in the comment section you can also email me at bleedingdead22@yahoo.com. 

Saturday, December 1, 2012

TDHorror Retro Review

It's been awhile since I've done a 90's horror review and I made an odd choice with the alien abduction film Fire in the Sky. Not normally my area of horror as my Sci-fi geekiness is limited to Star Wars, but I'm glad I watched it as it really does rank up there as a good scary film.


"Despite the less than presentable summary FIRE IN THE SKY is unlike any alien abduction film I've ever seen. With art and set design being its best assets. The inside of the space craft is creatively constructed as it takes on more of a biological and ecological interior rather than a highly advanced technical build or a foreign operating room. With the aliens being an equally unique and fascinating creation, having human qualities to them that don't mimic the the hoaky creations of Hollywood past"

As it is you may read the rest here. Not my best review ever but it has its sentences I suppose.

Thursday, November 22, 2012

Slaughter, Stuff, and Eat

Member this?


Of course you do.

I just re-posted it over at Truly Disturbing for a special Retro Review. Nothing speaks of this Holiday more than the anti-drug christian killer turkey head film. The original unedited review is here. And by edited I mean I changed one word and removed a line.

Happy Thanksgiving.

Thursday, November 15, 2012

The Vampire Lovers (1970)

After being called away to a family emergency The Countess imposes her beautiful daughter Marcilla on the General. Warmly receptive the General takes Marcilla into his home where she becomes very close with his daughter Laura. As the two grower closer though Laura becomes infected with an illness that causes her to have unbecoming nightmares and drains the strength out of her daily. When Laura's sickness peaks and she's at her worse all she can ask for is Marcilla, but when Laura fatally passes one night and the General looks to Marcilla she has disappeared. With lingering rumors of a vampire that has killed nearby villagers the General makes it his mission to stop her with the help of an experienced vampire hunter. Meanwhile Marcilla has moved onto a new house with the new name Carmilla and a new love interest in young and pretty Emma, who's beginning to grow pale and plagued nightly with bad dreams. As Carmilla's seductive prowl extends it's way over the Morton household the General rushes to find answers and kill the vampire Micalla.

Sheridan Le Fanu 'Carmilla' has enticed more of my interest in vampires than anything as of recent. Another adaption, Et Mourir De Plasir, is my current icon and recent cinematographic addiction. The Vampire Lovers in truth fell a bit short for me as the film faltered and slowed during the middle. The cover itself is of an exploitation variety offering the word blood-nymphs as it description. And like ninety percent of the exploitation film posters it's a lie as there's no sex, little blood, and neither of them occurring together. The little bit of nudity used is tasteful and not like those from the late seventies tits and gore collection, despite having similar plots. It doesn't expel cheesy or over the top moments, but makes up for it in effectively capturing the seductive horror to the female vampire plot. Not that it necessarily scares but is more of a case of acknowledgement than anything else.

Ingrid Pitt is of course the lovely, beautiful and terrifying Carmilla or Marcilla, depending on who's house she's lurking in. She's memorizing in a role she seems to understand every facet of, as playing the alluring vampire isn't foreign to her. There's an interesting complexity to the Micalla character as the bits of exposure outside of preying on young woman show an age that most actors and writers fail to grasp in the vampire story. Peter Cushing is lovable because he's simply Peter Cushing. The role of the general is simplistic yet kind and Cushing likely didn't have to do much for the part, but he's likable in his small role that almost serves as a cameo more than anything. The two young women Carmilla sets her interests on are too naive to be mentioned beyond that, Emma especially. For whatever reason I'm failing to locate an actor name or character name for the vampire on the horse. That being said all I really wanted to address of him was how ridiculous of a character he is, with his corny wicked smile being the lead issue. But, as that being said, it's in appropriate Hammer Horror fashion.


The film flowed in and out of unique photography moments but some of the more noted use of cinematography is in the opening scene that utilize a foggy dark set to display a beautiful lavender sheet for the vampire. The other is the nightmare sequence where the director and DP turn the frame black and white and doesn't allow the creature to come on screen. The Vampire Lovers is among a lot of the better Hammer Horror films, but not as famous as some of their other vampire classics, such as Dracula and Pitt's Countess Dracula. It's also a good 'Carmilla' adaption but not the best as I still give that to Roger Vadim's previously mentioned film. Still good enough to create a small film franchise and following I'd recommend The Vampire Lovers to Hammer Horror fans, as a watch for one of the genre's most prominent females of horror Ingrid Pitt, or for those who like the lesbian vampire sub-genre, mind you.

Sunday, November 11, 2012

Horror Short: Vincent (1982)

Directed by Tim Burton
Narrated by Vincent Price
Director of Photography Victor Abdalov

Vincent Malloy isn't like other kids, he stays inside, reads Edgar Alan Poe, and slips into macabre fantasies where he envisions himself as Vincent Price. The only thing stopping Vincent from getting lost in his daydream is his mother, who dislikes her son's strange behavior. Vincent is very much Dr. Seuss meets Tim Burton in a poetic and epic short film. There's so much homage to Vincent Price's career in young Vincent's play story of Price as a mad scientist who creates a demon dog, losses his wife, and slips into a bit of insanity that only Price could master in such films. And the subplot of Vincent being different than other kids is reference to Burton's childhood as he grew up reading Edgar Alan Poe and watching cartoons.

Lately Burton has been receiving the hate for his recent films, as Alice in Wonderland was awful (in my opinion) and Dark Shadows equally lacked the charm of his early works. Everything is still Burton-esque (i.e. crooked trees, weird plot) but doesn't have the black warped heart of his prominent films. Vincent has revived my faith in the director though as something this fantastic has to be hidden within him somewhere still. If I was to compose a list of my favorite Burton films The Nightmare Before Christmas would of course be first as it is his best work, but Vincent is a close second. As with Edward Scissorhands it only glimpses into the possibilities of collaboration between Price and Burton. As it is though Vincent is a marvelous, beautiful and twisted piece that is Burton's signature. A definite watch for fans of Burton's older work.

Vincent is available to watch on The Nightmare Before Christmas DVD and also in a less that decent quality upload on youtube. Again if you have a short film you'd like me to view you may contact me on Twitter or at my email bleedingdead22@yahoo.com.

Tuesday, November 6, 2012

Real Life Horror: Car Accidents

As the day may be I got in my first car accident today. Before I continue further no one was hurt, the other passenger and I are okay. Unfortunately though it was my fault. I was distracted while driving and ran a red light on accident. I was paying attention to the road but my mind was in other places, so luckily I braked which didn't cause much worse to happen. I did hit his car though, damaging his wheel, but essentially wrecking the front of mine. At the most I'm upset and angry at myself for the happening. He was somewhat helpful but seemed more irked that I hit him than anything. Which he has a right too be.

There's not much reason to this post I suppose outside that its to remind people that accidents happen and to drive safely. I also was going to post a review this Thursday but it wont be up until next week with all this stuff happening. But as I said the main reason of this is to remind people that real life horror happens everyday, luckily mine didn't end a lot worse than it could have.

Just a reminder to be safe.

Wednesday, October 31, 2012

TDHorror Retro Review

I know, you didn't think I was going to do it. You didn't think that I would actually get another review out by the end of this month. It's rare talent a procrastinator like myself has, waiting till the last minute. How's your Halloween been? Oh mine? Well I've sufficiently cut myself at work this morning, pissed a table off enough to give me a ten percent tip, likely damaged the relationship between my boyfriend's father and I, and managed to trigger my social anxiety. Sounds like every other Halloween. It's okay though because I'm at home watching movies now and plan to do so for the rest of the night. Maybe even do some editing on my short story. Whatever, I have another Retro Review. I watched this film a month ago and I was finishing the review this morning so I'm unsure about it. Not bad but the summary is awful.


"As the description may suggest PUMPKINHEAD is a slightly complex low budget horror film that offers a few nostalgic scares for its viewers. By complex I don't mean to imply it has necessary themes and layers but rather is able to evoke emotions from its audience, atypical for most horror films outside of scaring. There's a somber aura as the context is really quite depressing. No one really wins at the end of PUMPKINHEAD, there's a resolution but it's more inevitably sad than of a victory type. This isn't a pure slasher film either, as some try to suggest, it's an effortless blend of a monster movie and the popular slasher films for its era"

You may read the rest here. I'm going to try to have a review out to you guys real soon. I have like three started but not finished reviews....lets be honest I have like ten that I could post if I just got my shit together and broke through the writers block I have with them. But I will. And the horror shorts and of course I'll be doing a special Thanksgiving review...Blood Freak 2? If only it existed...

Happy Halloween. 

Friday, October 26, 2012

Twistflix for The Muse

Not often do my reviews matter much as, lets be honest, I'm reviewing older films that no one cares about from my recommendation standpoint. Not to mention my reviews aren't the strongest. But every so often I'm blessed to see smaller independent films and for some reason the filmmakers actually like what I have to say. Rufus Chaffee came to me a few months ago and asked me to write a review about his film The Muse. I did, having enjoyed it, I was happy for the viewing and left it at that. I never expected that my review would be quoted, yes QUOTED, on the main poster. From that I'll always be grateful to him and if this little blog goes no further than it is now I'm content with just having this. 

But that isn't the reason for this lovely post on Irrelevant Post Friday. It's because The Muse is finally available to view on Twistflix.




THE MUSE is waiting! Now available for streaming, download & purchase. Winner Best Film, Director and Actor at the Indie Gathering Film Festival, The Muse tells the story of one hit wonder musician Addison Taylor as he battles both writers block and a strange inspirational force at a secluded lake house. Blending chills, thrills and amazing original music, it has been called both "an eloquent thriller" by Bleeding Dead Reviews and "beautifully tragic" by Horror Hound Magazine . Check out the website at www.themusemovie.net and see it for yourself at www.twistflix.com/

Here's the Twistflix link and the film is also available for purchase and for digitial download on the site. It's only three dollars for a rent and it is worth it. My review of the film is here, if you need be reminded of how stunning I thought this little film was. I wish Chaffee all the best and I hope his film and future films get the attention they deserve. But that can only happen if you pay to watch the film, so please do.

Friday, October 19, 2012

Luke, I Am Your Father

I've been brewing over this for the past couple of weeks. But I'm convinced...that Sam from Trick 'R Treat is the offspring of Pumpkinhead.




Kay maybe not so much in looks...or maybe Sam's mom is in actuality the Alien from Alien


Okay maybe I'm not making any sense here but if.... 

SPOILER If you have not seen Prometheus you should just leave this post right the fuck now. Because I'm going to spoil all of it up in here.


If the Alien strand of DNA originates from the virus that Holloway got and he had sex with Shaw who births the first form of the face hugger who mutates into an even bigger face hugger, and then it mates with the alien who created humans, and it gives birth to the first strand of Alien DNA than I don't think it's much of a stretch for Pumpkinhead and the Alien to be Sam's parents okay? Dammit Ridley Scott.

In actuality I'm not sure if that's what happened. That's just sort of the conclusion I drew from the entire thing. I watch Prometheus last night for the first time and I kind of felt like:


Kind of felt slightly confused and a little bit jigged of a good film experience. And if your sitting there thinking okay what does Chase from House have to do with anything, it fits because I'm watching Dead Silence right now on AMC, kay? Which really doesn't fit either because Jason from True Blood is in Dead Silence, not Chase. But they both have Australian accents so it works in my mind.

Happy Irrelevant Post Friday/Follow Friday. Whichever is relevant to you.

Wednesday, October 10, 2012

Press Release: Indie Horror Short "Microcinema" Official Selection of Jersey Gore and Shockfest Film Festival


From the Garden State to the Golden State, “Microcinema”  
Goes Coast to Coast in November!

Indie Horror Short “Microcinema” Official Selection of Jersey Gore
and Shockfest Film Festivals


MASSACHUSETTS (Oct. 9, 2012) – The hits keep coming for Massachusetts-based Harvest Tide Productions first online and internationally self-distributed horror short independent film “Microcinema,” written and directed by Harvest Tide co-founder Skip Shea. “Microcinema” will be screened at the brand new Jersey Gore Film Festival, http://jerseygorefilmfestival.com, Nov. 3, at the Darress Theater in Boonton, NJ; and as part of the official line up of the popular Shockfest Film Festival of Hollywood, http://www.shockfilmfest.comNovember 16 and 17, at the Raleigh Studios in Hollywood, CA.

“It’s exciting to see our short film continue to get such notice from both the new and underground as well as the established film festivals,” said Shea. “And I’m especially pleased that horror fans on both coasts will have the chance next month to experience our six little minutes of  big entertainment.”

“Microcinema” won the 2012 Rondo Hatton Classic Horror Honorable Mention Award for Best Horror Short. And within a few short months of its release in 2011, “Microcinema” wowed critics and audiences last year at numerous horror film festivals and screenings including in 2011 the 1st Annual Danish Horror Film Festival: THE TURBINE at Spinderihallerne, Vejle, Denmark; All Things Horror Shudder Fest at the Somerville Theater in Somerville, MA; Short Horror Films at AS220 in Providence, RI; the Massachusetts Independent Film Festival; and before Canadian horror film fans at Fright Night Theater presents: ABSENTIA & Microcinema at the Staircase Cafe Theater in Hamilton, Ontario; and at the 2012 Shock Stock Convention at Centennial Hall in London, Ontario.

Starring Alex Lewis and Aurora Grabill, “Microcinema” (www.watchmicrocinema.com) is the story of Peter Martell, a highly educated, well-to-do young man with too much free time on his hands. He spends it watching snuff films. One day he makes the bold decision to cross the line from observer to participant, aspiring to bring a philosophical element to his own kind of snuff films. Ready to go to work, he tracks his first victim into a haunted New England wood, where the boundary between participant and observer takes a different turn.

In 2011, “Microcinema” scored on several best-of lists and gained momentum as a cult favorite and a hit with horror reviewers. Chris Conduit of The Conduit Speaks,www.theconduitspeaks.com put “Microcinema” as the best horror short of the year giving it his Conduit Award. Danielle Holman writing for Truly Disturbing Horror, www.trulydisturbing.comlisted “Microcinema” as one of the five best horror films saying, “Skip Shea’s seven-minute short film is deserving in the ranks of the big films as it’s able to accomplish more in less than ten minutes than an hour and a half feature length film.” In her Bleeding Dead, http://bleedingdeadfilmreviews.blogspot.com/ she has called “Microcinema” “…one of the most important horror films of our time.”

Shea has accumulated a long list of awards and accolades for his films and screenplays. His comedic short film “Choices” won Best New England Film at the 2012 Massachusetts Independent Film Festival. A feature-length script for “Microcinema” was a semi-finalist in this year’s Shriekfest in Los Angeles and his comedic short screenplay “The Bar” took runner-up in the Comedy Short Script category at the 19th Annual Woods Hole Film Festival.

“Microcinema” was originally a storyline for one of the episodes of Harvest Tide’s new horror web series “Longreach,” written by William DeCoff. “Longreach” follows the demise of Daniel Jedrek, the sergeant at arms for the Longreach Association, an ancient global charitable organization that takes charity to extremes. The Harvest Tide production team – Shea, DeCoff, Will Smyth and Emily King – agreed that “Microcinema” stood on its own in the burgeoning new online entertainment and media arena and delivers a brutal and gruesome tale to horror film fans. 

“Microcinema” is now available on the film’s website www.watchmicrocinema.com for 99 cents. The best horror for under a dollar.  

**********

What the critics are saying about “Microcinema”

“In what stands out as a giddy teenager spitting in the face of authority, Harvest Tide Productions and Uxbridge, MA’s own Skip Shea have crafted a short film that solidly runs all the lines of horror while establishing its own unique and disturbing storyline that scares (pun intended) away from the genre’s usual archaic tropes.” - Josh Lyford, Pulse Magazine.

“This is a 6 minute experience genre fans owe themselves. It’s rare these days to find full length Hollywood feature films that feel fresh, let alone 6 minute shorts made on tiny budgets.” - Life After Undeath Blog.

“The film is brave and unrelenting. It is a breath of fresh air to a lot of the common horror tricks that are being trotted out time and again." -Alexandra West, Scare Tactics Blog.

“Skip Shea is an adept director with equal ability to write, his short film gets more across than most full length films.  4 out of 5 Stars” - The Bleeding Dead Film Reviews. 

“You will not be expecting to see the events that unfold in this shocking short film.” - The Horror Spot

“The script itself deserves kudos for completely drawing your attention to the one aspect we would expect every horror film to contain and then suddenly shocks you with an element you rarely see in this genre.”  - The Scariest Movies Online 

“I figured I was in for one of three things:  a really solid work, a bite size film that left me feeling nothing, or one of those that makes me want to substitute rat poison for the salt on my dinner table.  Those are the three categories all art falls into for me, always. Yet, when it was all said and done, Shea’s vignette carved a whole new icky slot out just for itself. 9 out of 10 Stars” - The Conduit Speaks

“Brilliant. 8.5 out of 10 Stars” - The Gruesome Hurtzogg Horror Movie Review Podcast.

“4 out of 5 Stars” - Char Hardin

“What I find particularly interesting about Microcinema is its plot and how it seems to blend together torture, voyeurism, and a lot of other really weird horrific topics like snuff films.” - Horror Society 

“Microcinema Doesn't Disappoint” - Victor Infante, Worcester Telegram & Gazette

“The new indie horror romp Microcinema and it is a doozy.” - Truly Disturbing Horror

“Interesting short that starts as your usual slasher/serial killer fare before taking a wicked little turn.”  -Shaun Sjolin Cenobiteme Blog

“Unicornsblud Horror Review Stamp of Majestic Approval”  - Unicronsblud's Horror Reviews

“Twisted and sick but with a new vision.” - The Dr. Chris Radio of Horror

Tuesday, October 2, 2012

TDHorror Retro Review

This was suppose to be posted on Saturday to make the two post deadline for the month of September but complications, as in a slow computer, prevented it from happening. I figured what the hell though I never make the two month post limit anyways and this way it's more likely to happen for October because it's only the second.



"Viewers be warned DON'T LOOK NOW is a taunting thriller that takes you through a cautious two hour pace before delivering its only true shock and scare moment. It's a character heavy film in that not much occurs but the depth and understanding to Laura and John's loss. Essentially that is all the film is really about, a mourning couple who becomes lightly touched by the supernatural at the effect of their daughter's death. It's definitely a film study where there's an array of themes and motifs, almost as much as novel, where there's less of action and more of reaction"

You may read the rest here. I don't have much as far as updates since I posted a huge update post last Friday. Nothing has changed since, except I believe I finally came up with a good idea for the Bad Dollar contest. As of right now though I don't have any reviews planned for this blog, but I am (hopefully) going to the Mile High Horror Film Festival Saturday and I'm seeing two films as well as a lot of short films so I'm sure somewhere in there I'll find something to write about. Again I'll try to be as present on this blog as possible. Thanks for all your support. And please read and comment on the Retro Review.

Friday, September 28, 2012

Dear October,

Happy Irrelevant Post Friday. As like last month I couldn't go without posting at least one, albeit at the end of the month but here it is. There's not much to say as far things go, as you've noticed I've still been pretty much on hiatus with this blog and will continue to be for the most part. For a few reasons actually, which I'll explain.

As of the moment I hate my job. I plan on quitting in the near future and finding a better job but honestly I don't want to be a server for the entirety of my life. I love writing, and not reviews. Don't mistake I enjoy doing those too but my real dream in life is not to be the next Roger Ebert (can you imagine??) but hopefully something along the lines of the next Clive Baker. I do want to be a fiction writer and hopefully not a struggling one, but I'll honestly settle for struggling writer over struggling server. This being my dream I need to start writing my own stuff again because I'll tell you as of right now one hundred percent of my writing goes towards this blog and the stuff at TD.

Also when I started this blog it's because Netflix decided to sit on a giant stick and became stuck up technology snobs who cared only about money. Basically I liked writing reviews on Netflix but they took away the friends page which made it hard to do that, and also without much purpose. Anyways back then I only really wrote reviews when I felt I had something different to say about the film than everyone else. And often times now I find myself forcing to write a review (Psycho II) and I don't like doing that. Because then I'm just saying to just say something. I prefer when my writing has more purpose behind it. It senseless for me to write a review about a movie I was indifferent too.

Out of all this though please don't take that I'm leaving this blog in anyway. Of course not, I love being part of this community and I love writing reviews. I'll still post reviews but they may or may not be on a weekly basis. TD reviews will still be the same (twice a month, next one is tomorrow) and I'll keep features like the horror shorts. I'm not doing the top five lists for next month because it's too much work and will distract from my original writing. Again I hope all my followers stay with me and check back regularly. I will try to get at least three reviews to you a month as well as the TD. And regardless without the Top Five Lists I'll still have cool stuff since it's Halloween. But again thanks for your support and for reading, if I didn't have you I'd of quit this long ago.

Happy Irrelevant Post Friday/Follow Friday. Whichever is relevant to you.

Tuesday, September 11, 2012

TDHorror Retro Review

Another Retro Review. Discouragement is starting to fill the void that was once passion for writing film reviews. Maybe this is to my ignorance but I thought these Retro Reviews would get me a lot more feedback than my blog reviews. I can understand nobody commenting on a small time blogger's post but a site like Truly Disturbing? Maybe the truth is I'm not good at writing and they don't hold any interest. I don't know, I'm not quitting yet but honestly what's the point if no one reads or bothers to comment.



"Off the sandy shores of the ocean Gonza's Deli frequents many customers, luring them in for it's atmosphere and quality food. Little do these customers know though that Gorza's Deli is a front for what I presume to be illegal alcohol sales and a six hundred year old cannibal cult that serves to Satan and the uncontrollable lust for flesh. The customers that frequent Gonza's Deli don't appear out of the normal, which is a clear sign of evil cult followers as most of them are. The facade doesn't foul the good side though as the brother of Gonza, or the man who stands outside the Deli and warns people not to go in, is plotting to destroy Gonza and his human butchering Deli once and for all."

And as usual you may read the rest here. I don't have much else to say this week, maybe it's just a bad day or night, I'm not sure. But I'm likely not posting any film reviews this month for this blog because I have a lot of movies to watch for TD and for next month's Top Five Lists (remember that promise I made that I watch the films throughout the year, yeah about that...). It's best this blog stays on hiatus. If it convinces you any more how depressed I am about the lack of comments I forgot to mention that I did write this review within two weeks of the last review, give or take a day. I can't even be proud of myself anymore. I did it but who cares?

At least there's one thing, my mopping and feeling sorry for myself is likely more scary than Gore-met, Zombie Chef From Hell. So there's your horror for the day.

Friday, August 31, 2012

HorrorKidsTV

You think I'd go a whole month without and Irrelevant Post Friday? Anyone else remember this show?


Nineties Children unite. 

Happy Irrelevant Post Friday/Follow Friday/Early Labor Day. Whichever is Relevant to you.

Wednesday, August 29, 2012

Book Spine: Roses Are Red by Carrie Green

I excel at contradiction. I've been unfair to my forty three followers (who thought I'd be here in a year? Definitely not me) as August was the month to restart my reviews but I've only done two, with only a week left in the month. Balancing my two jobs, social life, and this blog have been a lot more difficult than I thought, and it's taken my more time to adjust. But I do think I'm on my way, somewhat. To help ease the pain of me being a horrible blogger I've decided to give you a little extra review that contradicts this blog. Book reviews! I know it's The Bleeding Dead - Film Reviews, but who cares? I put press releases on here, at least this is an actual review, even if it is of a book.

For the first one ever I've decided to review a recent read by one of my really good friends on Twitter, Carrie Green. She helped me out a lot with this blog in the beginning and has always been supportive. If you haven't heard anything of her she's been hailed as a female Stephen King and 'is a real sick puppy'. How can you not want to read a horror novel with claims like that? Her first collection of short stories Roses are Red, is the book of focus. As of yet these have no style or certain flow, as I'm mostly just improving as I go along but if they stick I'm sure after time they'll develop some sort of legitamate style and not resemble the sloppy writing of an seventh grader.

WARNING: These don't spoil the ending to the stories but discuss key plot points and characters that may give away bits of the story. Read with caution.

'A Long Distance Relationship'

At surface value the three stories in Roses are Red don't have any connection, but once read you find that Carrie Green braided them together by the common theme of a real life monster. These aren't your monsters you find under the bed or the ones that stalk you and are unstoppable, these are the ones you encounter in everyday life, in real people. As so is the case with 'A Long Distance Relationship' and it's character Alan, a man who's blood alcohol level mixed with anger and fear provokes him to murder his girlfriend. From there you follow Alan as he tries to get away with murder but a telephone call refuses to let him forget. Of the three this is the most gory and I claim as the most supernatural of the stories. The first couple of pages grab you and what keep you reading the rest of the book. Carrie doesn't hesitate when putting you in the story, she does it quick and sharp so you don't feel the pain till later.

'A Lucky Human'

In 'A Lucky Human' a man captain of a Universal Cruise Ship (as in space) uses a new crew member to escape a computer who's in love with him. This was my favorite story in Roses are Red as I absolutely loved it. The feel resembled so much of 2001: A Space Odyssey but instead of the computer our monster is The Captain who trades another man's life to escape an unrequited love. It's so unique in premise and engaging in scope that I read it twice. The Captain acts out of pure desperation to be free of the computer's want and need for him, which is already a scary complex in itself; an inanimate object being able to 'feel' for a human, who is a little short on the emotional scale as it is.

'Cash Only'

There is a certain power in an author who can turn a story you disliked and found relatively boring to interesting and, excuse the common phrase, spine-chilling in the matter of two final sentences. As she did with 'Cash Only'. A pure description of a man not driven by fear or desperation but the cold and seven deadly sin of greed. Up until the last page of 'Cash Only' I thought that the story was weak and overall dull in comparison to the other two but as I said Green's last sentence cuts so harshly in the study of the dark side of human nature that it may be the story to define the book itself. It question actions to feelings, as your presented with two very different characters. Marie the on the run criminal who's over wheliming guilt is leading her to a dark end, and Gene the bounty hunter who's emotional limitation extends as far as his money will take him. Marie pours herself to Gene one night in an attempt to redeem her past shame, though she is the criminal and possibly guilty of murder Gene proves to be the real monster showing an absolute lack of emotion towards another human being in need.