Wednesday, October 30, 2013

Press Release: FEARnet to Curb your Appetite On Thanksgiving Day with The Human Centipede Premier


FEARnet Celebrates “Tom Holland Day” on Saturday, November 9, with the Original ‘80s Vampire Classic ‘FRIGHT NIGHT’ at 8 p.m. ET/5 p.m. PT

FEARnet Presents Network Premieres of ‘TAKE SHELTER’, ‘PROWL’, ‘TASK’,

(SANTA MONICA – OCTOBER 29, 2013) – FEARnet brings your worst night terrors to life with the broadcast premiere of the creature feature DON’T BE AFRAID OF THE DARK, produced and co-written by Guillermo del Toro, on Sunday, November 10, at 8 p.m. ET/5 p.m. PT., as a young girl (TROPHY WIFE’s Bailee Madison) is haunted by vicious nocturnal nymphs who dwell in the bowels of her family’s (Guy Pearce and Katie Holmes) new home.

And, this Thanksgiving, gather your friends and loved ones around the TV for the broadcast premiere of HUMAN CENTIPEDE at 10 p.m. ET/7 p.m. PT. One of the most infamous films to ever emerge from the genre, shocking audiences worldwide with its disturbing subject matter, HUMAN CENTIPEDE is the twisted tale of a retired surgeon (Dieter Laser) who dreams of creating a scientific abomination. His dream becomes a reality—with unsettling consequences—in this body horror shocker that claims to be “100% medically accurate.”

Also in November, few things are more frightening than holiday shopping the day after Thanksgiving, but FEARnet’s got you covered with the loaded Black Friday Sweepstakes. Starting Friday, November 1, at 9 a.m. PT, and running until 5 p.m. PT on Monday, December 2, participants can enter the Black Friday Sweepstakes at, to win a cornucopia of terror featuring a Sony Tablet; Sony Handycam; chilling DVDs such as 30 DAYS OF NIGHT, FRIGHT NIGHT, and JEEPERS CREEPERS; DL & Co. Silver Skull Stirrers; $100 gift card to; exclusive TALES FROM THE CRYPT merchandise; FEARnet swag, and more!

Other November Highlights Include:
·         “Expedition FEAR” – Every Friday (10 p.m. ET/7 p.m. PT)
FEARnet shows its love for international suspense, as “Expedition FEAR” kicks off on November 1, with the darkly comedic UK slasher SEVERANCE (10 p.m. ET/7 p.m. PT), as office drones on a business retreat find themselves stalked by skilled hunters. And a reformed bloodsucker develops a sweet tooth in the Canadian creeper BLOOD & DONUTS (12 a.m. ET/9 p.m. PT). On November 8, it’s a double dose of German medical mayhem with ANATOMY (10 p.m. ET/7 p.m. PT), starring Franka Potente as a med student who uncovers a deadly conspiracy. ANATOMY 2 (12 a.m. ET/9 p.m. PT) follows, as murders plague a prestigious school that harbors a secret society.

On November 15, our neighbors to the North once again provide the chills with Canada’s BLOOD & DONUTS (10 p.m. ET/7 p.m. PT), and DOLAN’S CADILLAC (12 a.m. ET/9 p.m. PT), starring Christian Slater as a murderous human trafficker, and Wes Bentley as a man desperate for revenge. November 22, it’s a UK double feature with SEVERANCE (10 p.m. ET/7 p.m. PT), and THE WICKER MAN (12 a.m. ET/9 p.m. PT)—the original ‘70s classic about a detective investigating the disappearance of a little girl on an eerie Scottish isle. The November leg of the expedition closes on November 29, as a small town policeman runs afoul of sportsmen who prey on humans in the French import THE HUNTERS (10 p.m. ET/7 p.m. PT). And an airborne virus turns citizens into zombies in Chile’s DESCENDENTS (12 a.m. ET/9 p.m. PT).

·         ‘TAKE SHELTER (Broadcast Premiere) – Sunday, November 3 (8 p.m. ET/5 p.m. PT)
Apocalyptic visions lead a man (Michael Shannon) to construct an elaborate storm shelter in his backyard, as his wife (Jessica Chastain) and children fear for his sanity.

·         “Tom Holland Day”: ‘FRIGHT NIGHT’ – Saturday, November 9 (8 p.m. ET/5 p.m. PT)
FEARnet celebrates the master behind such fan favorites as CHILD’S PLAY and PSYCHO II, with a special airing of the original genre classic, FRIGHT NIGHT, which Holland wrote and directed. The ‘80s fan favorite tells the story of teenage everyman Charley Brewster, who enlists the help of a late-night horror movie host (Roddy McDowall) when a vampire (Chris Sarandon) moves in next door.

Beginning Monday, November 4, all 10 episodes of Tom Holland’s TWISTED TALES anthology series will be available for “binge viewing” exclusively on the FEARnet website and VOD platforms. The horror anthology series presents a variety of stories, each with its own unique special effects and nerve-shredding twists, and boasting guest appearances from genre favorites such as William Forsythe, Danielle Harris, Angela Bettis, and many more. Additionally, viewers will be able to access special behind-the-scenes looks at select shorts, as well as interviews with Tom Holland and Danielle Harris.

·         “After Dark Originals” Marathon – Thursday, November 14 (6 p.m. ET/3 p.m. PT)
Experience some of the best films that the After Dark Horrorfest has to offer with this all-night marathon packed with four network premieres. PROWL (6 p.m. ET/3 p.m. PT) gets things started, as friends find themselves trapped in a warehouse full of bloodthirsty creatures. Next, reality show contestants must complete THE TASK (8 p.m. ET/5 p.m. PT) in a prison haunted by malevolent spirits. Then, telepathic twins terrorize a town in SECONDS APART (10 p.m. ET/7 p.m. PT). FERTILE GROUND (12 a.m. ET/9 p.m. PT) brings the evening to an end, as a young couple are victimized by ghosts of the past in their ancestral New Hampshire home.

About FEARnet

FEARnet is a multi-platform programming service delivering original and acquired horror, thriller and suspense content as a cable TV movie network, a video-on-demand outlet and web portal.  FEARnet, a partnership among Sony Pictures Television, Lionsgate Entertainment and Comcast Corporation, features a robust lineup of popular titles from major film studios and independents, encompassing 300 plus movie titles a year, including 14 world television and 22 theatrical broadcast premieres. The Network is distributed to U.S. cable subscribers across the country on various systems and is often ranked as the number-one free HD VOD movie service available in more than 28 million homes. The website,, ranks as one of the most popular sites in the genre category among total uniques and duration per visit. Follow FEARnet on Facebook and Twitter (@FEARnet). For more information about the company, visit To access photos visit FEARnetPR on flickr.

Wednesday, October 23, 2013

Press Release: WithAnO Productions Releases Theatrical Trailer for Ultra Violent Horror Flick "Muck"


 "Muck" Film Stars Horror Legend Kane Hodder and the 2012 Playboy Playmate of the Year


LOS ANGELES – October 23, 2013 – Following up on its teaser trailer that generated over 30 articles in the horror community and earned the only horror film panel at Stan Lee's Comikaze Expo 2013, WithanO Productions just released the theatrical trailer for its upcoming "Muck" film.  "Muck" stars the horror legend Kane Hodder ("Friday the 13th" 7-10, "Hatchet" trilogy) and the new Scream Queen, 2012 Playboy Playmate of the Year, Jaclyn Swedberg.  The trailer will provide a more in-depth look at the film, and it can be seen at or on the film’s website,  

"Muck" was filmed completely on the Red Epic in Ultra HD over the course of 19 grueling all-night shoots.  Shot entirely on location in the swamps and marshes of Cape Cod, Massachusetts, this dangerous shoot was nearly impossible when you factor in first-time director Steve Wolsh produced “Muck” on a mirco-budget of $200,000.

Although an independent feature, "Muck" matches the quality of any top Hollywood film.  By using the industry's preferred 4K HD camera, "Muck" images surpassed larger budget indie films even before DaVinci color correction.   For the record, the Red cameras used weren’t “stolen”, just "borrowed without asking" and returned with minimal water damage.  Moreover, after Universal Studios viewed the first cut of the film, the powerhouse agreed to mix "Muck" for theatre surround sound on the Universal lot. 

Besides the Horror Legend and Playmate of the Year, "Muck" features an amazing cast of up-and-coming actors, led by Australian hunk Lachlan Buchanan ("Newcastle", "Pretty Little Liars", and "NCIS: Red") and Indian beauty Puja Mohindra.  Very few Hollywood films feature strong lead roles for Indian actresses, and this is a first for any American horror film, a breakout role for Mohindra.

The “Muck” production did not make it easy on the actors, though.  SAG expressed concern during production of this film, stating, “‘Muck’ is, without a doubt, one of the top 5 most violent scripts we have ever seen come through.”  With concern from SAG, horror fans can rejoice about stunts in the upcoming film:  in-water fighting, full-body fire burns, high-impact falls, and even a naked woman thrown through glass.
 All things for “Muck,” the next big franchise in horror, can be found at  videos/photos/gifs and more.  

Press Release: FEARnet Premieres Tom Holland's Twisted Tales Anthology


Launch Coincides with the Linear Network’s “Tom Holland Day” on

Saturday, November 9, at 8 P.M. ET/5 P.M. PT, Featuring the Original ‘FRIGHT NIGHT’

(SANTA MONICA – OCTOBER 21, 2013) – From Master of Horror Tom Holland, comes a 10 episode anthology series, Tom Holland’s TWISTED TALES, exclusively available on and VOD beginning Monday, November 4. The new series will be available for “binge viewing” and boasts guest appearances from genre favorites such as William Forsythe, Danielle Harris, Angela Bettis, and many, many more.  Holland (PSYCHO II, CHILD’S PLAY) writes and directs the series – a variety of stories that take viewers into the dark world of vampires, witchcraft, demon possession and scorned lovers, to name a few.

Holland was excited to join forces with FEARnet, “It was great to work with Peter Block and FEARnet. Peter was and still is completely supportive and provided wonderful story notes throughout the process, while also allowing me creative freedom to tell my tales. I like to think of myself as the Crypt Keeper in this series – although I hope I look better than he did!”

Additionally, viewers will be able to access special behind-the-scenes looks at select shorts, as well as interviews with Tom Holland and Danielle Harris.  As an added treat, Tom Holland will participate in a live Twitter chat (@FEARnet ) on Mon., Oct. 28 from 4 p.m. to 5 p.m. ET (1 p.m. to 2 p.m. PT)— chat hash tag is #TomHollandChat. Holland will also be conducting an Ask Me Anything (AMA) session on Reddit in the horror section Wed., Oct. 30 from 4 p.m. – 6 p.m. ET (1 p.m. – 3 p.m. PT).

“We are honored to be able to work with a master like Tom Holland,” said Sarah Shannon, vice president, programming and network operations. “He created these completely original, never-before-seen shorts specifically for our Network, and we can’t wait to finally unleash this series online and on VOD."

While TWISTED TALES is exclusively available on the FEARnet website and VOD platform, linear viewers will not be left out. On Saturday, November 9, at 8 p.m. ET/5 p.m. PT, the TV network will celebrate “Tom Holland Day,” with a special airing of the original genre classic, FRIGHT NIGHT, which Holland wrote and directed. The ‘80s fan favorite tells the story of teenage everyman Charley Brewster, who enlists the help of a late-night horror movie host (Roddy McDowall) when a vampire (Chris Sarandon) moves in next door.

Press Release: The B Movie World Gathers in Illinois This Weekend

What do Sharknado, Nightmare On Elm Street, Chopping Mall, Lost Empire, Witchboard and Armed Response all have in common? They are are all part of the B Movie Celebration being held October 25th-28th at the Hollywood Boulevard Cinema in Woodbridge, Illinois.

All together 26 amazing B feature films with 42 B movie shorts are being screened. We are very proud to be hosting 7 world premieres and over 12 North American Premieres. If you love B Movies, then the Hollywood Boulevard is the place to be this weekend. In attendance at the B Movie Celebration will be Freddy Krueger himself, Robert Englund. Joining Robert will be legendary B Movie Directors Jim Wynorski, Fred Olen Ray and Kevin Tenney, each screening one or more of their classic titles. This is a perfect chance to sit down with practitioners of the cinematic arts one on one.

Often the term B movie is thought to be one of derision and scorn. Low budget B or Genre filmmaking are thought to be second class or in some way inferior. We at the B Movie Celebration know otherwise. We know that for the most part the grand American cinematic tradition has evolved from origins in B Movies. The weavers of images which we as a collective culture deem as master of the cinematic arts, Scorsese, Coppola, Kaufman, Demme, Leone, Bogdanovich , Lucas, Spielberg and Tarantino all either toiled in the fields of B filmmaking or consider themselves primarily influenced by this tradition and manner of cinema.
They know that the majority of innovation and the defining of the cinematic arts were as a result as a result of B Movies. There is a tradition and legacy which should not be forgotten. Filmmakers like Oscar Micheaux, Ida Lupino, Samuel Fuller, Jacques Tourneur, Lloyd Kaufman, Robert Lippert, Roger Corman and Jim Wynorski have all contributed significantly to the tradition and the emerging art form that is movies. Some of them still do.

They also feel that it is our duty to present a global overview of genre filmmaking by showing classic B films but also to sharing with you our discovery of emerging B filmmaking talents.
These people have taken on the banner of advancing the art of the motion picture and they like their predecessors must be celebrated.

They invite you to celebrate B Movies, celebrate the people who made these movies and those who continue to make these movies.

Please join At The Hollywood Boulevard Cinema October 25th-28th for the Seventh Annual B Movie Celebration. or

Monday, October 14, 2013

To Be Evil Or Not to Be Evil, That is the Question

It's that wonderful time of year where I get sick. Like clockwork every October I'm plagued usually with the flu or a bad cold and this year didn't miss a beat. Due to this inconvenience I'm only now just getting this list to you as I've spent the last three days sleeping and drinking lots of cough medicine. Its the second Monday in October and keeping my word I have a new Top Five List for your viewing pleasure. But first I must again remind that I'm running a contest through the entire month of October that could win you a Blu Ray copy of Room 237. The details are here if you like to further inquire. I don't have any entries so you stand a fantastic chance of winning. The contest also gets your review posted on my blog and a chance to gain additional traffic to your blog.

This past February I was apart of Women in Horror month which was a month long celebration of the ladies of our genre. In that I kind of denied the men some love, but in fairness the horror genre is rather men dominant anyway. I'm here to make that up though as I like both sexes in film. However, it's too difficult to account all the harrowing men of a genre older than film itself and the honorable mentions list would go on forever. So I narrowed it by quite a margin by looking at our anti-hero's of the genre rather than the wholesome Superman type. Which is appropriate considering horror takes to the darker side of life anyways. Love them, hate them, or your never quite sure how to feel about them they are the ones you doubt usually up until the end, and maybe then some. They are the wayward heroes and the morally conflicted bad guys but in the end they always help save the day...or do they? Here are my Top Five Anti-Heroes in Horror (thus far):

5) Hellboy from Hellboy (2004)

I don't believe I've ever proclaimed my affliction for Ron Pearlman on this blog before. To put it simply I really like when Ron Pearlman gets a decent role because he's really great actor, especially when playing characters in two tones. His alter TV ego Clay Morrow on Son's of Anarchy is a perfect example of a character that is suppose to the good guy but likes to do the bad guy stuff more often than none. Its a seep from his part in Hellboy where he plays the title character. If you don't know the back-story Hellboy is the son of the devil and like any anti-christ his intention on this earth is to eventually release the apocalypse. Close to being raised by Nazis he was instead founded by the Bureau of Paranormal Research and Defense and spends his life fighting off the things that go bump in the night. Hellboy's purpose, motive, and methods are often questioned, especially by his superior, but makes a case to keep the human race safe, even risking all he holds close to do it. His uncertainty in his self though and the sobering sureness of others that his real destiny will be full-filled one day makes you curious for Del Toro's next installment. The big red guy is a good guy no doubt, but he still has room to fall.

4) Seth Gecko from From Dusk Till Dawn (1996)

Among other reason as to why I love Rodriguez's vampire flick so much is Seth Gecko turns out to be our unlikely anti-hero. Of course with the charm of George Clooney and Tarantino's script it wasn't hard to like a character who made a career of being an asshole but still had a little bit of softness in his heart, somewhere. Seth is a no nonsense do-as-I-say-or-enjoy-this-bullet kind of guy but his tender spot for his brother and his somewhat sparing pass for the innocent give him dimension. As it is not everything is black and white, there are shades of gray and though his tone may be darker then other's he's not completely void of emotion. When his brother and him hijack a family and their motor home to get across the border (all to escape an astonishing trail of blood and bodies) they become unlikely allies when their lives and eternal souls are put to risk in a biker bar full of vampires. But before him and Kate become vampire slayers Seth shows his level headed side when he tells Jacob that he won't kill his family as long as his brother and him escape safely. He also had full intent of letting the bank teller lady at the beginning go, but that goes sideways for other reasons. It is hard to say if Seth has changed come the end of the film but what matters is he pulled through for the family in the end (to the best of his ability at least), despite that they would have never been there if it wasn't for him.

3) Alex from A Clockwork Orange (1971)

Anthony Burgess novel and Stanley Kubrick's adaption of delinquent Alex DeLarge is a study of anti-heroism in its prominent impression of curing a criminal. Burgess paints a detailed picture of a future society where young Alex spends his free time drinking drugged milk, trotting along his gang of Droogies, and performing illicit acts of violence and rape. When a break in goes wrong and Alex accidentally murders a woman he's taken to jail where he learns of a program in which he can volunteer for that would in turn cure him of his internal desire for violence. The experiment a controversial approach that wasn't thought all the way through only really stops the act itself but doesn't really cure the criminal, as delinquent Alex still lies somewhere beneath his new presentable exterior. Alex is appalling, the most infamous act of his being raping a wife in front of her husband all while merrily singing Singing in the Rain. But at a point Alex eventually becomes the victim, tortured by his love of Beethoven through the unbearable stomach pains caused by the experiment. Also forgotten by his family and a easy prey for his Droogies-turned-cops the second half of the film actually has you sympathizing with a character who made a solid case of deserving a warm and cozy spot in hell in the first half. Maybe its because despite the real urge still lurking beneath the surface Alex truly believes he's cured and attempts to make amends. Unfortunately for Alex he already made his bed and the rest of the world has full intent on him sleeping in it.

2) Ash from Evil Dead II (1987) and Army of Darkness (1992)

Ash is the unsung hero of the Book of the Dead, having saved us in three films now from the Necrononmicon's demons. Ash's paragon isn't so much a inner struggle between good and evil, I don't really recall Ash being bad to any sorts (possession does not count). He's more of an anti hero in that he embodies none of the traditional traits of a hero but still saves the day in his own groovy fashion. His sanity is a question as his mind does slip, understandably, a little from reality once his hand is claimed by the demons and he's not really the romantic Weastly type (the 'pillow talk' line in Army of Darkness is classic). But Ash's job is to kick ass and chew bubble gum, not save the Princess from the castle. And despite that being a John Carpenter film reference that has nothing to do with Evil Dead II its the basic truth. Ash is good at losing his mind, slaying deadites, and wielding a chainsaw from his missing limb. He was born to kill demons and the idealistic souffle that comes with heroes has nothing to do with it.

1) Vincent Price from Every Vincent Price Movie That Ever Existed

Let's not deny that there is no one better at straying the lines of good and madness as well as Vincent Price, who basically built a career by being the weird guy in the corner your never quite sure about. And sure this is a character list and Vincent Price is technically a real person but how could I narrow down to a single character? House on Haunted Hill, The Abominable Dr Phibes, The Fall of the House of Usher, The Masque of Red Death. there's so many to pick from. The man was the true incarnation of the anti-hero as your were often unsure but you always routed for him, or at the least highly fascinated in his character motives. But to pick for the sake of this list I'm most partial to his performance in House of Wax, as it is my favorite Price film. His play as passionate and outré sculptor Henry Jarrod is a a fantastic display as he just casually lets slip that he's not even relatively there. Price had a charm that was easily captured on film and no matter what the character or film he was the hero of many horror fans. He was the true incarnation of the anti-hero of our genre as he was the best at capturing it.

Honorable Mentions: Frank Banister from The Frighteners (1996), the sleezy ghost exterminator in Peter Jackson's horror comedy. Patrick Bateman from American Psycho (2000), the clinically insane yuppie from Bret Easton's Novel and film of the same name.

If you're reading post your own.

Thursday, October 10, 2013

American Horror Story: Asylum (2012)

In modern day a young newlywed couple, taking a haunted honeymoon tour around the country, comes to Briarcliff, an old insane asylum that reached its peak of weird in the sixties, its most famous patient a violent serial killer called Bloody Face. Not too long after arriving the couple is killed by an unseen force and we are flash-backed to the sixties where we see Briarcliff in its day. Not too different than its current proceedings it is a grimy patient care facility that is supervised by the cruel Sister Jude and run by Rome driven Monsignor Timothy Howard. Of its newly recent patients there's Kit Walker, a twenty some year old average Joe who's wife was brutally murdered by the unknown killer Bloody Face. Mistaken for her murderer Kit is thrown into Briarcliff and is committed as he claims aliens abducted him then killed his wife Alma. With his face now being the poster child of the violent crimes where the killer has been skinning the women he captures and wearing their skin as a mask Kit's arrest attracts Lana Winters to Briarcliff. A journalist Lana has all the right girth as a reporter who'll do anything to get her story but her nosing in Briarcliff and its conditions lands her a bed in the hospital, her condition symptom by Sister Jude of her interest in the same sex. Inside Briarcliff Kit and Lana are exposed to the often inhumane treatments and unsanitary living conditions the hospital offers. Not to mention its sometimes mid-evil practices for punishment. The only option the two have is to prove their innocence as the real Bloody Face killer is still lurking around. But along the way they have other horrors to triumph over which include Sister Mary Eunice who's purity is left dead inside her by a malevolent demon and Briarcliff's own residing doctor, Doctor Arden, who's experiments and history bring a whole new shade of evil to the patients. 

As last year the metaphoric horror was dealing with the ghosts of the past this season played a more rising from the fall as survivors were made in the tender walls of Briarcliff.  Conscious of its time AHS: Asylum tackles the issues of woman's oppression, Civil Rights movement, and the deeply misconceived understanding of mental health. Each of its vivacious characters represent a different struggle all of which seek the same outcome for freedom, independence, and choice. The horror likely more present this season with the works of mutated zombies, Nazi doctors, aliens, a murderous Santa Claws, mean nuns (and possessed, mind you), and a serial killer who's fond of the work of Buffalo Bill to add to a list of things that might keep you up at night. The Bloody Face mask is a brutal conception from the makeup and special effects department. A vivid, ruthless imagining of a more than deeply unhinged killer and his prominent work. Lets just say Leatherface would be proud. There's a natural uneasiness of mental institutions as the real life horrors of mental illness are often the darkest and most grieving to watch giving Asylum a perch above the prior season's location. Also an improvement from last year is a more guided direction where the story arcs actually sought out a conclusion, for the most part at least. There are inconsistencies that don't pose fatal to the tack of the show but are weird plot motions such as Alma's final years and Dr. Arden's last act. The latter maybe not odd but more of a disappointing end to a well built deleterious villain. The composure at the end of the season is really quite lovely though, for a show that often doesn't know where it's going it manages to tie up things in a quiet but significant end that changes the perception of the show. Another happy ending with the remnants of dread still looming beneath the surface.

Evan Peter's Kit Walker is about as opposite as it gets to Tate Langdon, a hard working man who's aim in life is to live a happy one with his wife loses everything in a single night to otherworldly beings. Peter's is a good actor and is good in the part, his accent, appearance, and matured performance all strong, but Kit's story falls a little bit short to some of the other dealings going on at Briarcliff. While its still an interesting story line and ends in an unsettling yet somehow comforting finish, it differs from the tone for the rest of the season. Of all the stories I enjoyed Lana's the most as it showed a strong uprising from a character who was initially strong to start with but was shattered when she lost everything in the asylum and all her strength is put to the test. Sarah Paulson is fantastic in the part with the heart and spirit of the time evident in the character. Lana can be forceful and she does her fair share of questionable things but Paulson plays the ups and downs with no problem and keeps the character at a constant and likable. Jessica Lange's Sister Jude also an unexpected tale of triumph and demons as initially she's portrayed as the 'bad guy', so to speak, having wrongly committed Lana so she wouldn't expose the truth that lurked behind Briarcliff's walls. Not to mention her always pleasant collection of whips. But as the show progresses we see Jude in a time before she joined the convent and the spirit that follows her around. Her tough exterior is not only a cover up for a very broken individual but her strongest asset against her work enemy, Doctor Arden, who often sees to undermine her authority as he considers her nothing more than a woman. Lange is a force in the part but it lacks the same punch of her performance in the first season.

Past season favorites Lily Rabe and Zachary Quinto return with genuine performances that account for a lot of the fear instilled within the episodes. Frances Conroy also rejoins the cast as The Dark Angel of the season, having a significantly smaller role but managing to steal most every scene she appears in. AHS still utilizes a very defined and seamless display of cinematography, choosing a darker palate this year to tone the melancholy of the asylum. The production also again consistently strong and attentive to detail. There's a far deal more I could say about the second season of FX's prominent new show but this particular review has carried on long enough. Murphy and Falchuk can simply be brilliant, as was evident last year. AHS is different, unlike any show horror and non to be present on TV, and with more cohesion in their telecasts this year its made its mark. Like its first season American Horror Story: Asylum is riddled with exceptional acting, strange and addictive horror, a strong finish, and unsurpassed writing. With only two eras and two types of locations covered there's endless possibilities for this show that has a love for all types of horror and makes a regular effort to pay homage of past films. Last year I was unsure, albeit addicted, about the overall composure of the show. This year I'm purely addicted. To put it simply if you are a horror fan and your not watching American Horror Story your missing out on some of the best the genre has to offer.

Tuesday, October 8, 2013

Press Release: Axs TV's Kiss Monster Marathon on Hallow's Eve


AXS TV Teams with Award-Winning Rock Group KISS as it Presents 12 Hours of Continuous Concerts Featuring KISS, Alice Cooper, AC/DC, Iron Maiden, Judas Priest and Papa Roach
Marathon Includes Interstitial Wraps with KISS Band Members

LOS ANGELES – Oct.  8, 2013 – AXS TV is teaming up with the legendary and award-winning rock group KISS for Halloween, Thursday, Oct. 31, when the Channel programs six concerts wrapped around fresh interstitial content featuring KISS.

Starting at 3:30 p.m. ET (12:30 p.m. PT), AXS TV kicks off its hard-rock Halloween with Judas Priest as the headliner. From there, the Channel keeps the beat past the witching hour of midnight until 4:45 a.m. ET (12:35 a.m. PT). The concert schedule includes AC/DC, Iron Maiden, Papa Roach and Alice Cooper. However, the cornerstone of the night is the network premiere of KISS’s Zurich, Switzerland concert, featuring their hit songs and music from their KISS MONSTER album. AXS TV CONCERTS recorded that event live last May and it has been edited, but not censored when it debuts at 8 p.m. ET (5 p.m. PT).
The schedule for AXS TV’s KISS MONSTER MARATHON includes:

Thursday, October 31 (All Times Eastern)

3:30 p.m.         JUDAS PRIEST LIVE: BRITISH STEEL 30TH ANNIVERSARY SPECIAL – Judas Priest celebrates the 30th anniversary of "British Steel" from the Hard Rock Arena in Hollywood, Florida.

4:45 p.m.         PAPA ROACH LIVE FROM CLUB NOKIA  –  Papa Roach presents one of the best rock shows this year live from Club Nokia in Los Angeles.

5:55 p.m.         IRON MAIDEN EN VIVO! – En Vivo! captures the always exciting atmosphere that fans have come to expect from Iron Maiden. Filmed in Chile, the concert features favorites such as "The Trooper,"  "The Number of the Beast" and "Fear of the Dark" as well as hits from the No.1 studio album "The Final Frontier."

7:30 p.m.         AT HELL’S DOOR: BEHIND THE SCENES AT HELLFEST - Jacoby Shaddix of Papa Roach takes over Hellfest in Clisson, France to give viewers an inside look at what goes on backstage, onstage and more at one of Europe's biggest and craziest rock festivals. (Repeats at 1:00 a.m. ET)

8:00 p.m.         KISS MONSTER WORLD TOUR: LIVE FROM EUROPE CONCERT  – NETWORK PREMIERE - AXS TV was on hand to tape KISS’ Zurich, Switzerland concert live last May, making this edited version a network premiere. The concert featured new staging, lighting and pyrotechnics that had never been seen before on TV. (Repeats at 1:30 a.m. ET).

10:05 p.m.       AC/DC LIVE AT RIVER PLATE – AC/DC Live At River Plate documents the band's triumphant return to Buenos Aires. (Repeats at 3:35 a.m. ET)

11:15 p.m.       ALICE COOPER LIVE AT MONTREUX – Alice Cooper’s live shows are legendary for their sense of Rock Theater and sheer visual spectacle. Underpinning the visual assault has always been a collection of some of the best rock songs around delivered by one of the all-time great front men. This show includes tracks from across his career including all the classics you would expect.


Bringing music back to television, AXS TV, launched in July of 2012 by visionary entrepreneur Mark Cuban, has created a one-of-a-kind, live television environment for entertainment and other cutting-edge trends. AXS TV delivers relevant, unpredictable and irreverent programming offering an unparalleled experience to a nationwide audience by presenting unfiltered, uncensored and uncut access to entertainers and their performances. “AXS TV Concerts,” indicative of the network’s dedication to music programming, crosses genres and international waters to deliver everything from stadium tours to club acts to some of the most anticipated festivals on the calendar, including the New Orleans Jazz and Heritage Festival, the Stagecoach Festival in California and the British Summer Time at Hyde Park Festival. A roster of diverse and unique talent is also a hallmark of the network with shows hosted by Dan Rather and Tom Green, performances by artists such as Carrie Underwood, Maroon 5 and Billy Joel as well as the top comics working the circuit on the signature “Gotham Comedy Live.” Sports programming is led by “AXS TV Fights” which produces over 40 live mixed martial arts broadcasts a year in addition to the longest running weekly MMA news show on television, “Inside MMA.” The network is available in the United States via AT&T U-verse, Charter, Comcast/Xfinity, DIRECTV, DISH Network, Suddenlink, Verizon FiOS, and other TV providers. It is also distributed in Canada and the Caribbean. The network is spearheaded by a partnership including Mark Cuban, AEG, Ryan Seacrest Media, Creative Artists Agency (CAA) and CBS. For more information, visit the website,; go to the Facebook page here and follow the company on Twitter, @axstv; on Instagram;  Tumblr  and YouTube.

Press Release: FEARnet Goes Global With Its 'Expedition Fear' Friday Night Block


(SANTA MONICA, CA – OCTOBER 8, 2013) – While FEARnet has always made a point to highlight
the best in worldwide genre titles, the Network is putting extra focus on overseas scares with the addition of the “Expedition FEAR” Friday night block—two international films, every week, at 10 p.m. ET/7 p.m. PT. “Expedition FEAR” entries in October showcase some of the best talent from around the world—topped off by celebrated [REC] creator Jaume Balagueró’s shocker TO LET on October 25—giving genre fans a chance to experience many foreign gems that they may have never seen or heard of before.

Beginning October 18, the films will come packaged with exclusive wraparound content—shot at the 2013 Fantastic Fest and made specifically for FEARnet—highlighting the best of the independent horror cinema scene. The interstitial content features roundtable discussions on topics such as a First-Time Directors panel with Evan Katz (CHEAP THRILLS) and Randy Moore (ESCAPE FROM TOMORROW); a Foreign Genre Films panel with Katrin Gebbe (NOTHING BAD CAN HAPPEN) and Tamae Garateguy (SHE WOLF); an American Independent Cinema panel with Joe Begos (ALMOST HUMAN) and James Bykrit (COHERENCE); an Indie vs. Mainstream panel with Jesse Cook (SEPTIC MAN) and Ben Wheatley (A FIELD IN ENGLAND); and a Film Critics and Bloggers panel where Sam Zimmerman (FANGORIA), Ryan Turek (DREAD CENTRAL), Brian Collins (BADASS DIGEST), and FEARnet’s own Lawrence Raffel, Sarah Shannon, and Alyse Wax discuss the films they saw at Fantastic Fest, and why the festival is important for both the genre and the audience. As a bonus, the Network will also air an exclusive one-on-one interview with Alamo Drafthouse founder Tim League.

“‘Expedition  FEAR’ is a unique opportunity for us to show our viewers something new and different, introducing them to the best films that the international genre scene has to offer—many of which are nearly impossible to find on American television,” said Sarah Shannon, vice president, programming and network operations, FEARnet. “Additionally, airing as part of this block, we are proud to unveil exclusive interstitial content, shot at the 2013 Fantastic Fest, that will give our viewers a behind-the-scenes look into the genre’s independent and foreign landscapes, with contributions from up-and-coming filmmakers, as well as established genre veterans.”

The “Expedition FEAR” October lineup includes:

·  October 18

At 10 p.m. ET/7 p.m. PT, the preteen Estrella retreats into horror films, where her playmates are some of the genre’s greatest monsters, in A REAL FRIEND, part of Spain’s “6 Films To Keep You Awake” series. The found footage Australian import, LAKE MUNGO, is next at 12 a.m. ET/9 p.m. PT, as distraught parents investigate their daughter’s mysterious death.

 ·  October 25

The October portion of “Expedition FEAR” comes to a close with two more “6 Films To Keep You Awake,” starting with SPECTRE at 10 p.m. ET/7 p.m. PT, about an old man who returns to his hometown, and sees the ghostly beauty he fell in love with many years ago. Then, a man and his pregnant girlfriend visit a creepy apartment complex run by a disturbed landlord in TO LET, from [REC] scribe Jaume Balagueró, at 12 a.m. ET/9 p.m. PT.

Monday, October 7, 2013

Warning, Shaking Camera May Cause Headache

It's October which means Top Five Lists have returned. For real this year. I'm still busy, as usual, but I've managed time to include this blog in my daily weekly life. I'm still anticipating on moving Bleeding Dead to Wordpress but the process is slow and the site itself will differ more from the basics I've created here. Less like a blog and more like a functioning website. This is still a bit of a ways off though and for the time being business here will continue as usual. So its October and that means lots of Halloween and Horror related stuff to indulge in for the next month. And as I can't do thirty one days of reviews I do my part with my top five lists. As always I like to interject that this is my opinion and I base these lists off a number of things, including personal preference in which no way should account for an actual legitimacy in ranking. Therefore I always encourage that you post your own in the comment section as I like to see what my readers would rank. But before I get to that I must remind that for the month I'm running a contest to win a copy of Room 237 on Blu Ray. If your interested in entering you can find more information here.

It's a love-hate genre. Often most people can't stomach the shaky camera movements long enough to finish the film whilst others more or less just despise their existence. However, as I said with the Torture Porn sub-genre (that has basically fallen asleep now thanks to these) it'll one day be looked back on like the slasher genre, maybe not as loved but remembered as a part of horror no less. Art reflects the current flow of the world, the same reason we've been seeing a rush of End of Ze World films is the same reason we've been seeing a slew of Found Footage films in the past few years; it's what our culture is reflecting. Our lives are rapidly lapsing into a technologically dominant society (which could be good or bad, we'll see how it turns out) and its inevitable that smartphones and facebook are seeping their way into film's plots. With the Found Footage films approaching them as real-life captures of horror instills doubt initially, but as the film goes on you start to second guess it and then you find yourself on Google trying to decipher the fact from the fiction. Or maybe you just sit there with your arms crossed and hate them all the way through, but to each his own. Whichever is your preference is for watching them here are my Top Five Found Footage Films (thus far):

#5 Cannibal Holocaust (1980)

Cannibal Holocaust falls low on this list because it wasn't approached as real, but it uses the same stylized camera movements found in the sub-genre and there are very real images in it. For that Cannibal Holocaust is really less remembered as a prerequisite for the sub-genre and more as a force of its own. It's a sonnet of human brutality, with an explicit honesty that is harsh to the viewers' tolerance. It's bigger than the genre because it is simply a fantastic exploitation film with a highly iconic image of horror and it existed before the time of the internet. There isn't quite a film like it. But less of why its great in itself and more as to why it's a good found footage film. Despite a misconception on most Cannibal Holocaust has a well thought concept about a couple of filmmakers who's found footage reveals the final moments of their lives as they document a tribe of cannibals in the Amazon. The film depicts violent, primitive, and often sadistic acts by the tribe and of the filmmakers, asking who's really the savage and who isn't. The graphic brutality of the real animal killings is about as close as its get to real without being snuff and has a strong effect when watching. Its a manifesto for cannibal films, a still to this day taboo watch, and among many other notaries it is also one of the first incarnations of the found footage genre. Cannibal Holocaust is a horror-must, found footage or not.

#4 Troll Hunter (2010)

At the risk of using the patter most commonly spoken by cant-speaking tweenagers, Troll Hunter is pretty legit. Its hard to imagine that a film that is not only a found footage entry but a documentary on the secret world of hunting trolls got a lot of recognition and praise. Of course though if you see Troll Hunter you can understand why because it really is that good. Not only original, exciting, and dare I say epic? Troll Hunter is a strong foreign film that only the Norweigns can pull off with the same seriousness and ease. It follows a group of filmmakers who in trying to expose a bear poacher instead find the best kept secret of trolls walking among us and meet the man who single-handedly takes them down at night. Hans is up there with the great movie monster hunters, including Van Helsing, Quinn from Jaws, and Daryl from The Walking Dead and worthily earns his spot. As does Troll Hunter on the any found footage list.

#3 Grave Encounters (2011)

The mock paranormal documentary with the combined found footage film style is a fresh and logical piece in the tired sub-genre. A satirical take off the paranormal investigation shows that frequent the basic cable channels it follows a cynical television crew through an old asylum that in turn is really haunted. The latter findings generate a generous portion of old fashioned jumpy scares and creepy moments to make your spine shiver. It has this haunted house quality about it which I loved, where the set design and sound tech made the viewer feel as if the characters were walking through a haunted maze of sorts. Echos off the walls and the distorted sanity plays thick in a place where the halls and rooms change to their own pleasing and guide the characters where they choose, often to their deaths or worse. Grave Encounters is also rather funny, which is always a good bit of relief when your locked in an abandon asylum. Avoid the wannabe-meta sequel that replaces the cleverness of the first with a snarky lead and weak script. Watch the first for original scares with good laughs, and as champion of the sub-genre.

#2 Lake Mungo (2008)

Out of all the films on this list I'll give that Lake Mungo is by far the most convincing film in it's documentary style approach. It utilizes the lighting, angels, and tone of television-like documentaries giving you an impression that what you see could be very real. There isn't reenactments, and Alice's weird happenings aren't caught by her vocal friend lugging around a hand held. Instead photos, interviews, and crappy home movies are shown to give you a sense that Alice lead a dark life that ultimately led to her early death. What it leaves you with? A surreal creepiness that may keep you up at night.

#1 Paranormal Activity (2007)

Haters will hate with this one (for the next 20 years no doubt) but Paranormal Activity is without a doubt the best found footage film. It's simplistic and in that the most effective at being convincing. I'm not a fan of the series, as I've said before, but I admire and respect the first film for it's technical ploys more so than it's plot and character anomalies. As a whole I do find the series smart but the sequels lack the impact the first had. Footprints, closing doors, and no ghosts dressed in white make it feel real. It's haunting. The little film that could holds a similar resemblance to Carpenter's Halloween in how word of mouth got it seen. I've likely just lost more than half my readers by making that statement but it's what I've noticed. Halloween is the most prominent and important film in the slasher genre (slasher 101, if you will) and I'll attest that Paranormal Activity is the most prominent and important film in the found footage genre. Blair Witch did it first, or Cannibal Holocaust, depending on your preference but Paranormal Activity did it best.

Honorable Mentions: The Blair Witch (1999), the original found footage sensation that uses the simple rustle of leaves to terrify. [REC] (2007), a reporter and her crew are quarantined inside an apartment building while doing a story and capture something terrifying instead. The Fourth Kind (2009), a take on the real disappearances of several locals in small town Alaska where the real footage is intertwined with the live action.

If you're reading post your own.

Sunday, October 6, 2013

Redrum is Murder Spelt Backwards Contest - Win Blu Ray Copy of Room 237

***If you'd like to skip my rantings, which consists of the first three paragraphs in this post, scroll below to go straight to rules and details of the contest.

Recently I purchased a copy of Room 237 on Blu Ray by mistake. I wanted the DVD as I'm really interested in seeing the documentary that reads between the lines (and then some, from what I've heard) about Kubricks horror classic but picked up the Blu Ray by accident. When I went to return it to store I was denied. Their reasons being that it was first off brand new and they didn't accept returns on new films and also because I opened it out of the package. They gave me two options, switch it out for the DVD or sell it back to them for eight bucks (a really take it up the ass deal, excuse my language, considering I purchased it from them for three times that worth). The DVD sounds like the appealing option right? If only Netflix didn't put it up the day after I bought it. Now I'd like to watch it before I decide if I want to add it to my collection. Since I'm just indecisive like that.

So I'm left with this useless Blu Ray copy as I don't own a Blu Ray. I could sell it to another trades store but its rather out of my way and I may not get much more for it. I could sell it online but again at most I could gain ten dollars more in profit than what they offered to me. And since I'm feeling generous and it massive horror movie watching month and I'd like to stick it to that DVD store I purchased it from with Karma I've decided it'll have better use in the hands of one of my readers. But I'm not just going to give it away, that would be absurd. So contest time.

In the past the contests on this blog have more or less failed with my first gaining all of four entries and my last generating a single entry with the winning recipient never claiming his prize. I'm not really sure how to go about fixing this problem. I've used Promote Horror in the past to help get the word out but still I'm rather unlucky when it comes to this aspect of the blogging community. Maybe my contests aren't all that appealing or maybe the prizes have been less than motivating. I hope this time I see at least more than four entries as the prize is good and the contest fairly simple.


- Write a review for the 1980's classic horror film The Shining.
- Review will be judged by me and winner will be picked from the content and strength of the review.
-There's no good or bad opinion, love or hate the film it will be based on how well your point is argued and how adequately you present your opinion.
- Indifferent to length. It can range from a single sentence to an essay, but I'm much rather prefer something in the middle such as three to four paragraphs.
- You have until October 30th to submit you review.
- Submit ALL reviews to with the subject line Room 237 Contest or Shining Contest, or something of the likes. Just please don't leave it blank.


- Brand New Room 237 Blu Ray.
- Your review posted on my site on Halloween as a special guest review.
- A chance to promote your own site to gain traffic.

Friday, October 4, 2013

Press Release: The Seventh Annual B Movie Celebration Comes to The Chicago Area

As this is our first event in the Chicagoland area, so we need your help in getting the word out to the legions of B Movie fans. This is an annual event giving B Movies the exposure they so rightly deserve.
The Hollywood Boulevard Cinema in Woodridge Illinois will be hosting the Seventh Annual B Movie Celebration October 25th-27th. We are asking for your help to get the word out.
For the past seven years, fans of the often maligned genre of B-movies have gathered to just to watch classic and emerging B-films, but not just to passively view the films, as the name implies, celebrate them! This year — the Seventh— looks like being the biggest yet. Why? The organizers have been rampaging through the independent film underworld, ferreting out a host of new releases and soon-to-be-classics to be introduced into the Celebration’s film program. Many of the films presented will be either North American or World premiere.
The Celebration will feature screenings of over 68 B movies, including 26 feature films as well as 42 cutting edge shorts. We will also have personal appearances from such B Greats as B Director Jim Wynorski, Fred Olen Ray and Kevin Tenney . New digitally remastered versions of Wynorski's “The Lost Empire” and “Chopping Mall will be launched, Fred Olen Ray will have the World' Premiere of his film “After Midnight” and Kevin Tenney will be present during a screening of his opus “Witchboard”.
For those that are about to Schlock we salute you.
For further information please go to our website
or email us at

Press Release: FEARnet Brings Holiday Favorite Trick 'R Treat to VOD


The VOD Debut of ‘TRICK ‘R TREAT’ Coincides with the Linear Channel’s Fourth Annual 24-Hour ‘TRICK ‘R TREAT’ Marathon on Halloween
(SANTA MONICA – OCTOBER 3, 2013) – For the first time, FEARnet is making Mike Dougherty’s acclaimed genre anthology, TRICK ‘R TREAT, available to its growing community of viewers on Video On Demand (VOD). From Friday, October 25, to Thursday, October 31—the same day as the network’s 24-hour TRICK ‘R TREAT marathon on its linear network—VOD subscribers will be able to take part in the holiday festivities, as the film’s pint-sized trickster, Sam, wreaks Halloween havoc.

“We’re pleased to be able to bring TRICK ‘R TREAT to our VOD subscribers for the first time,” said Sarah Shannon, Vice President, Programming & Network Operations, FEARnet. “The Network has a large VOD following, so it’s important for our VOD content to mirror our linear content as much as possible, to give all of our viewers an opportunity to enjoy the content we have to offer each month.”

The cult classic stars Anna Paquin and Brian Cox in an anthology setting, featuring four interlocking stories about people celebrating, or shunning, the infamous holiday, and the bloody consequences they face for their actions. TRICK ‘R TREAT is the perfect complement to the Halloween season, and FEARnet is the only place you can watch it.

Also in October, FEARnet has launched the “FEARtober: 31 Days of Treats”—an online advent calendar detailing the multitude of offerings fans can enjoy as they count down to Halloween. Throughout the month, fans will be able to head to for Halloween polls, free themed movies, and downloadable content featuring TALES FROM THE CRYPT and TRICK ‘R TREAT-themed pumpkin carving stencils, as well as Halloween cards and paper dolls depicting TRICK ‘R TREAT’s mascot, Sam.

Additionally, the 24-hour TRICK ‘R TREAT marathon will come packed with interstitial content created and produced exclusively for the network by Mike Dougherty. These special features include “Season’s Greetings,” the original short film that spawned TRICK ‘R TREAT, starring TRICK ‘R TREAT’s beloved Sam; Fathers’ Day, Easter and back-to-school shorts, also starring Sam; and vignettes explaining the four key rules of Halloween: Always wear a costume, always pass out treats, never blow out your Jack O’Lantern before midnight, and always check your candy.

Tuesday, October 1, 2013

Press Release: New Kicstarter Eco-Thriller 'Strange Nature' Takes on Unsolved Ecological Mystery

Unsolved Ecological Mystery Exposed by New Film Strange Nature

Ojala Productions, a Hollywood Special Makeup/Creature Effects company is actively pursuing funding on Kickstarter for the upcoming Eco-Thriller feature film Strange Nature by writer/director Jim Ojala. This is the first film to confront real unsolved frog deformity outbreaks in the U.S. and where they may lead.

North Hollywood, CA) Wednesday September 25, 2013- Writer/Director, Jim Ojala, President of Ojala Productions set to direct Strange Nature. The Eco-Thriller feature film is based on a true unsolved ecological mystery, where thousands of hideously deformed frogs have turned up in the waters of Minnesota and beyond.

Jim Ojala, a Duluth, Minnesota native said that he was intrigued by the Minnesota mutant frog outbreak when he saw the news story on ABC Nightline in 1996. (See Story). After watching the newscast, Jim’s first thought was what if the deadly mutations went beyond the frogs?

Ojala followed the story over the next few years, to find that thousands of hideously mutated frogs were still being discovered. The Minnesota Pollution Control Agency investigated the mutation problem and derived several possible theories for the cause, but no conclusion was determined. In 2001, the U.S. Government pulled all research funding. The malformations have since spread to other states and even other countries-- most recently, reports from Argentina, China, and India.

For the current state of U.S. frog deformities, Ojala consulted with Dr. Pieter Johnson an Ecologist at the University of Colorado and discovered a shocking revelation. Dr. Johnson explained, “Despite reduced coverage in the media, deformed amphibians continue to be widespread and abundant in many areas. In our research in the western USA, we have described several thousand severely malformed frogs in the last three years alone, including animals with missing legs, extra limbs, and misshapen limbs. The percentage of abnormal animals at a wetland often exceeds 15% and at several sites we consistently find >80% malformed. At one pond in Oregon, every single emerging frog suffered from one or more deformities, with many animals dying before they could complete metamorphosis.” -Dr. Pieter Johnson Ecologist, University of Colorado- August, 28, 2013

The true events are the basis for Strange Nature. “It is both a thriller and a drama film of sorts”, explains Ojala, “seen through the eyes of a single-mother and her 11-year old son as the drama unfolds on a small Minnesota town which struggles to survive when the deadly mutations move beyond the ponds.” Ojala passionately believes this is a critical time for this film to be made, “it exposes a true environmental issue that has been swept under the carpet far too long”.

With the hope of attracting more attention to the ongoing deformed frog cases some U.S. Ecologists have supported Strange Nature to the extent that they have even provided live severely deformed frogs to be featured in the film which you can see in the Kickstarter pitch video.

Ojala’s goal in making this film is two-fold: 1) to bring the story to the public attention after eighteen years and 2) to trigger further research funding which could lead to finding the cause and prevent the mutations from spreading to other species.

Once production funding is secured for Strange Nature, Ojala will move forward with principal photography which will shoot in Minnesota. Currently, a fundraising campaign for the film is on Kickstarter until October 10th.

So far the film has attracted the likes of Carlos Alazraqui (Reno 911) and WWE Superstar Wrestler, John “Nitro” Hennigan. Both actors are set to co-star in the film.
About Jim Ojala and Ojala Productions

After graduating high school from Duluth, MN in 1995 Jim Ojala joined the local Public Access Station where he was given the opportunity to learn all aspects of video production. He collaborated with friends to create and direct a local cable-TV series, My Three Scums, a notorious horror/comedy series revolving around a family of misfits, freaks and monsters which continued for 3 years and garnered a large local following.

The success of My Three Scums, opened the door to Ojala’s first film job with Troma Studios in New York on the film, Citizen Toxie: The Toxic Avenger 4.

Following Citizen Toxie, Ojala went on to work with Tim Considine of Direct Effects in the special makeup effects department. There he worked on features, commercials, photo shoots and theatre productions. While in New York, Jim also attended the Millennium Film Program under the mentorship of experimental filmmaking pioneer, Michael Kuchar.

In 2001, Jim made the pilgrimage to Los Angeles. One of his first jobs in LA, was working on the makeup/creature effects for Buffy the Vampire Slayer and The Shield. Subsequently, he has also worked on numerous commercials, and features including Where the Wild Things Are and Hellboy 2 The Golden Army. Ojala’s makeup/creature effects skills continue to be a strong force in the independent film world providing makeup effects for the critically hailed, Deadgirl, as well as working with Legacy Studios on Pacific Rim.

Jim’s directing credits range from short films, TV Pilots, to music videos including: The viral hit Marvel Zombies the Movie Fan Film, Harvest- a TV pilot based on a one hour Sci-fi Thriller TV series, and Deviled Egg, a music video for the popular Los Angeles Band, The Radioactive Chicken Heads just to name a few.